User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Alpine Head Unit

  1. #1
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Alpine Head Unit

    bought a new head unit today an Alpine CDE9880R questions are....

    1. Do I leave the old double din cage in or take it out?

    2. When the head unit is on the date goes in the original display is there a wire that can be cut to stop this so the dates there permanent?

    3. Looking for a steering wheel control adapter does anyone know the part number?

    4. Think that's it for now

  2. #2
    Regular Member Burton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    County Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    blue wire.. the remote one sometimes blue and white, fromt he headunit

  3. #3
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Alpine book says remote turn on is blue/white but it is not connected as i do not have an amp

    Blue from head unit is power ant could it be this one?

    I also notice from the head unit orange is dimmer and it says connect to instrument cluster illumination lead, any idea what colour this is on the loom??

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    think I have the correct leads from autoleads....

    PC99-X45 and PC99-Alp, can anyone confirm this before ordering..

    Also noticed that some people had problems when using these adapters that the stereo turns off as not enough power, I would look at using the cig lighter but I already have the Parrot kit linked onto there, would it be a problem if I added the adapter onto this??

  5. #5
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Perry View Post
    think I have the correct leads from autoleads....

    PC99-X45 and PC99-Alp, can anyone confirm this before ordering..

    Also noticed that some people had problems when using these adapters that the stereo turns off as not enough power, I would look at using the cig lighter but I already have the Parrot kit linked onto there, would it be a problem if I added the adapter onto this??

    hi i think they are the correct numbers. i have an alpine in my car and had a nightmare wiring the steering wheel adaptor to the wiring in the car i could not get an ignition live but found out that you have to change the 2 wires in the adaptor block so you can use it on the ignition like you have to on the alpine stereo, its the red and yellow one.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well the steering wheel controls is all fitted and working now waiting for the single din adapter to turn up which did, but totally the wrong colour!!!!!!!

    Are we any further on which wire to snip so I can get the date showing all the time in the display instead of a blank part?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member craigmerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Perry View Post
    Well the steering wheel controls is all fitted and working now waiting for the single din adapter to turn up which did, but totally the wrong colour!!!!!!!

    Are we any further on which wire to snip so I can get the date showing all the time in the display instead of a blank part?

    Thanks
    Which colour did they send ? I've got a black one

  8. #8
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Matt Black, says anthracite on a detached label but looks black to me and def not metallic!!

  9. #9
    Regular Member Berry38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cutting the blue antenna/amp remote wire on the Alpine headunit may affect radio reception as the roof aerial has a built in amplifier which is switched by this. The way to check this is to check to see if you get any MW/LW reception with this wire cut. If you don't then there is no easy way of keeping the heads up display showing the date.
    Most people cut the wire and live without MW/LW,but in my experience usually re join when they want to listen to sport on MW. I know of a way round it but it takes time and means rewiring the aerial directly but I've been fitting car audio as a living for 20 years so find it straight forward to do.
    I'm assumming the radio harness in your car was the ISO type and not Quadlock.
    Regrds Steven

  10. #10
    Regular Member Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Watford Herts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes harness is ISO, if it's hassle I will leave it as it is, just remember on my Vectra B one wire was cut to keep time/date.

    Not sure if the blu blue/white from Alpine is actually connected to anything

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: Alpine head unit
    By kev bux in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2011, 19:46
  2. Alpine Head Unit Install + Sub :D
    By irondan in forum ICE Gallery
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st July 2010, 21:02
  3. alpine head unit
    By stuart bigboy in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th May 2008, 20:14
  4. Alpine Head unit
    By ZC_74 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th October 2007, 19:40
  5. Alpine Head Unit
    By ZC_74 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th October 2007, 00:52

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •