User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: sub and amplifier

  1. #1
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default sub and amplifier

    hi all after 2 weeks of installing my sub and amp i was driving along the other day and the amp went into protection mode and now wont work at all ive tried the fuses they are ok and i checked all the wiring which is the same as it was when i put it in. the only thing i noticed is that my left fog light had blown could this be a coincedence or has it something to do with it? hope this makes sense!!!!

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    disconnect the speaker to see if the amp powers up as it may be the speaker not the amp

  3. #3
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisgettings View Post
    disconnect the speaker to see if the amp powers up as it may be the speaker not the amp
    hi mate i did that and the only wires connected to the amp were the live and earth and it did the same. it is powering up because a red light comes on next to where it says "protected". could it be the amp is no good?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Signum_CDTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere and Nowhere....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Check the remote power cable too - mine worked loose at the back of the head unit and did the same.

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    look at the fuse to the amp as the amp will still try to power up off the remote lead
    or
    you can get a short bit of wire and put it from the battey live to the remote wire on the amp this is a quick way to see if the fuse may be gone

  6. #6
    Regular Member Burton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    County Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    check ya ground, disconect it, clean it with sandpaper and reconect.... its a common fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Burton View Post
    check ya ground, disconect it, clean it with sandpaper and reconect.... its a common fault.
    will do but its not moved or anything everything was the same as when i installed it!! could the amp have gone?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Burton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    County Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i know, but i have seen it a few times, exactly the same, nothing moved but suddenly wont work.
    i usually move the ground to somewhere better, and hey presto, works fine!

  9. #9
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Burton View Post
    i know, but i have seen it a few times, exactly the same, nothing moved but suddenly wont work.
    i usually move the ground to somewhere better, and hey presto, works fine!
    cheers mate will try that in the morning

  10. #10
    Regular Member Burton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    County Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    lol probably wont work, i'll look a t**t

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. amplifier and fan to suboffer
    By Manuel R.B.B in forum Styling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th August 2009, 16:02
  2. Aerial Amplifier
    By lizard in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st July 2009, 10:07
  3. Amplifier Rating
    By siz1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd December 2008, 10:46
  4. Amplifier on oem DVD90
    By WhiteC in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th May 2008, 19:07
  5. Amplifier Wiring How 2
    By parapaul in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th November 2006, 06:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •