User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Auto Tip-tronic Box??

  1. #1
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Auto Tip-tronic Box??

    I have noticed that when sitting stationary you can put the car into:
    1st,2nd,3rd and 4th gear and the car will pull off from a standing start.

    On the auto-box i know it should select the correct gear, even when in tip-tronic mode, so is there a fault with my box, as in its not defaulting back to 1st when i go to pull off, or is it ok for this to happen?

    I dont do it, but i just noticed this today when sitting in traffic.

    Anyone know???

    Thx guys.

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Graeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    mines is the same on my 2.2, i think (could be wrong ) that in manual mode it will still change down the gears if you dont but it doesnt select them when you are going up them.

  3. #3
    Regular Member EURO G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    n ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    im not sure about the veccy but i had a passat with triptronic and when i put it into triptronic mode it wouldnt drop down or up a gear without me doing it it would have just stayed in the same gear

  4. #4
    Vectra-C Obsessed Poster Drinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    on your momma !!!!!!!!!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Absolutely nowt wrong with it mine does just the same it's only like selecting winter mode it just works a bit harder it's actually good fun at the light's as you can start off in second gear and not need to change again until 75 MPH (all on a private race track of course) !!!!!!!!!!!!

    Back in a V6 !!!!!!!!!!!! And lovin it !!!

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Graeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drinky View Post
    Absolutely nowt wrong with it mine does just the same it's only like selecting winter mode it just works a bit harder it's actually good fun at the light's as you can start off in second gear and not need to change again until 75 MPH (all on a private race track of course) !!!!!!!!!!!!
    lol that must just be the 3.2's mate mine needs a push in first

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dartford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My dads merc c200 does that too, can pull off in any gear, will just be a bit slower getting up to speed if you pull of in say 4th. I normally drive it in the proper auto mode though (D)

  7. #7
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stepheng View Post
    im not sure about the veccy but i had a passat with triptronic and when i put it into triptronic mode it wouldnt drop down or up a gear without me doing it it would have just stayed in the same gear

    VW...Typical HAHAHA

    Quote Originally Posted by Drinky View Post
    Absolutely nowt wrong with it mine does just the same it's only like selecting winter mode it just works a bit harder it's actually good fun at the light's as you can start off in second gear and not need to change again until 75 MPH (all on a private race track of course) !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thx mate.

    Quote Originally Posted by Graeme View Post
    lol that must just be the 3.2's mate mine needs a push in first
    It will pull from 4th all the way to 120!!!!!! On Drinky's private race track off course HAHAHAHA

  8. #8
    Regular Member LAV6Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lisburn, NI
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What must it do to the clutch but....if your constantly pulling off from a higher gear?

    Thats if there is a normal type clutch in it????

  9. #9
    Vectra-C Obsessed Poster Drinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    on your momma !!!!!!!!!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larry 3.2V6 Elite View Post



    It will pull from 4th all the way to 120!!!!!! On Drinky's private race track off course HAHAHAHA
    It will do a damn site more than 120 in 4th buddy

    Back in a V6 !!!!!!!!!!!! And lovin it !!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Larkhall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm half asleep here and may have misread the question, but in manual mode you have to change up the gears yourself, but if you are in too high a gear for the speed you are doing it will automatically change down to an appropriate gear......... It did it on my 2.2 direct and does it on my 2.2 dti

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help needed - Auto dim mirror & poss auto wipers
    By mark_647 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th December 2009, 01:09
  2. CV-tronic additve refreshment
    By John C S in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th April 2008, 22:05
  3. Auto Dimming Mirror/Auto Wipers
    By lofty in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 22nd March 2008, 21:42

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •