User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: bsr ppc reprogram ??????

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    grimsby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default bsr ppc reprogram ??????

    going to buy one of these but also changing my car in about 12 month
    is it poss to take this bit of kit with me and get bsr to reprogram
    or am i better waiting tile i get new car
    cheers

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator soulman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VOTING UKIP IN AVELEY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Astra Twin Top

    Engine : 1.9cdti

    Year : 07

    Default

    it wont swop to another car.............you need to wait

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    grimsby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    even if its the new vectra when it comes out

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Once you use it on one car it's locked to that car. You can't then take it to another car. BSR won't unlock or reprogram it to go onto another car.

    So it's up to you really if you want to get it now and get a years use out of it, or wait until you change cars.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Actually your all wrong

    After a few discussions this week I have found out the following. Although the PPC is married to your own car, it does look like that when you change your car, you will be able to return your PPC to have it re-programmed with the software for your new car, providing they do a re-map for it for a charge of approx £95.

    This has to be confirmed but it does look like BSR are looking to do this. I am waiting to here back from LMF who are in talks with BSR about this very subject.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    grimsby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    rolleyes

    hope so otherwise i will have to try elsewhere
    but would rather go with bsr after all the good reviews on this site

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator soulman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VOTING UKIP IN AVELEY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : Astra Twin Top

    Engine : 1.9cdti

    Year : 07

    Default

    hmmmmmmmmm that would be good if it happened...........but whats stopping you from keeping it on the old car and getting it put on another then ????

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick View Post
    Actually your all wrong

    After a few discussions this week I have found out the following. Although the PPC is married to your own car, it does look like that when you change your car, you will be able to return your PPC to have it re-programmed with the software for your new car, providing they do a re-map for it for a charge of approx £95.

    This has to be confirmed but it does look like BSR are looking to do this. I am waiting to here back from LMF who are in talks with BSR about this very subject.
    Oh excellent!! Good news!! That was always one thing that was a downside. You had to be sure you'd have the car for a while to justify the cost, and even if you changed for a car that BSR did a remap for you had to buy a whole new unit - which isn't small change.

    Bluefin can do it with their product, so I always wondered why BSR couldn't, or wouldn't. Looking forward to hearing the developments on this - especially as my next car may very well be a VXR estate. So £95 to get it up to 300bhp would be a bahaaaargain!!

    Obviously a requirement would be that the car is returned to standard before you handed the PPC unit over to be re-programmed.

    EDIT: Just thought. Given all the Stage 3 kit fitted to my car, it could be a bit tricky to sell it onto anyone without the mapping unit! Oh well, looks like I could be buying a new PPC in the future then! lol

    Quote Originally Posted by soulman View Post
    hmmmmmmmmm that would be good if it happened...........but whats stopping you from keeping it on the old car and getting it put on another then ????
    I would think you'd need to have the first car returned to standard before having the unit re-programmed. They can tell what the PPC unit last did in terms of mapping.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    grimsby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you will have to pay them again for remap i guess
    but as you keep the tool for inserting the map, your old car if sold could be sold with map on or off and you dont even ever have to tell them its been chipped.
    sound good
    will check with bsr before i buy one though

  10. #10
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by learoy69 View Post
    ...your old car if sold could be sold with map on or off ...
    Wouldn't think so - see above.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. reprogram key
    By eminemme42 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 26th January 2012, 21:09
  2. EGR Reprogram
    By tinytiger in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th September 2011, 17:56
  3. Signum horn and steering wheel buttons not working after key reprogram
    By designit in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd June 2010, 00:02
  4. Anyone recommend a dealer to reprogram my CID
    By acorndave in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10th June 2010, 19:46
  5. How to reprogram a key fob
    By lukesignum in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th March 2010, 11:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •