User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Spanner light & ECU reset - 2002 GSi

  1. #1
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default Spanner light & ECU reset - 2002 GSi

    For a while now, my spanner light comes on momentarily and then goes off, so nothing to worry about (yet).

    When I did the ECU reset following the fitment of a Courtenay air filter, the spanner light stopped coming on for a couple of weeks. Then the light came on again (still momentarily) so re-set the ECU again just to see what would happen. Light then went out for three weeks. Just when you think all is OK, ****** thing is back again.

    Why would re-setting the ECU give me a "temporary" fix or is it just coincidence?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it would give a temporary fix until the fault reoccured again... then it would leave the telltale for 25 odd restarts

  3. #3
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    291 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Where abouts in London are ya mate?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    gonna make him an offer he can't refuse Dad..

  5. #5
    Regular Member Small Racer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is it the fault that is temp or the fix? The CAN OBD2 standard states that the fault will be recorded for 40 days then erased if the fault does not re-occur. So unless you keep a careful record of dates etc.. You will not know if the fault is a 'new' occurance or the old one at say day 38. So when you hook up to the ECU check the number and type of fault recorded before you reset and clear the faults it would appear useful to keep a record of the day you erased and a record of the number and type of faults you clear.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    or......when you actually log into the cars ECU.. you note the fault...select 'erase codes'.. select ' refresh list'... and it will tell you if it's still a live fault or not.....

    what i was saying is that if GTR disconnected the battery the ECU will 'forget' all faults till it reoccurs again, so giving a temp fix to the 'light on' issue, but not addressing the real root cause of the problem..

  7. #7
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Mark, do I need to get it tech 2'd at a VX stealer or butter someone up who's got a reader?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i think a PM to Plasma would get you sorted as he's got the same kit as me and he's london based..

  9. #9
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    i think a PM to Plasma would get you sorted as he's got the same kit as me and he's london based..
    Done, thanks mate.

  10. #10
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Mark, I think Plasma's over Essex way, you might be a tad closer

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Spanner light.how do i reset?
    By Dobs in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th August 2012, 02:16
  2. Can the car/spanner light be reset?
    By paul_sri150 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20th September 2010, 19:25
  3. spanner light reset emission light now on HELP!
    By johnny boy67 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 12:07
  4. How to reset spanner light?
    By busterpoo in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 13:56
  5. Spanner Light - Does it need to be reset?
    By thompo5 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th February 2009, 05:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •