User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: U480 Scanner

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default U480 Scanner

    Got it from ebay today. Not tried it yet but I had 2 spanner and limp mode episodes 2 weeks ago, so decided to invest in one to read the engine electronic fault codes. It cost £32 inc P&P. Dealer wanted £46 to put it on Tech 2 to diagnose the fault/s. Do not know if this will ever be of use to me but £32 is not a great deal of money, and judging by some of the posts on here, it may be used rather a lot during the ownership of this car. Lol. BTW, I have a 1.9cdti (150). Will report back when I try it, probs at weekend.

  2. #2
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    I have a couple of fault code readers, well handy for just checking everythings ok from time to time..

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    An update, I went out to try this and no DTC codes were detected. I managed to clear the spanner light at ignition stage by doing an 'erase codes'. When checking through the I/M status menu, the 'misfire' was shown as on, I assume this was because the emissions light was glowing on the dash as the car was not started but on the ignition position. So looks like my £32 was money well spent as the chances would be that the TECH 2 from dealers (at £45 per shot) would have come up with no faults. Maybe the TECH 2 would detect things this cheapo scanner wont but no further episodes of limp mode in last 2 weeks an car is running just fine.
    Any response/thoughts on the I/M would be appreciated.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. U480 Fault Code Scanner
    By Telboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th July 2011, 13:48
  2. U480 diagnostic Scanner, can engine be running when reading codes
    By wickedwillie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th February 2010, 11:58
  3. u480 diagnostic scanner problems
    By dan9895 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 25th June 2009, 08:57
  4. Engine Management Light, fault doesn't show on U480 scanner
    By petesaysblimey in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th April 2009, 16:51
  5. Got a U480 canbus diagnostic scanner delivered today....
    By merikiito in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 22nd February 2009, 19:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •