User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Did I get a good deal?

  1. #1
    Regular Member ion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Did I get a good deal?

    Hi everyone,

    Most of you know more about pc's than me so is the following a good price? (I hope so cos I bought it):-

    Ex Demo Packard Bell PC

    Pentium 4 3.0 GHz

    533Mhz Front side BUS (Whatever the hell that means)

    1024 Mb memory

    200Gb Hard drive

    Dual Layer DVD writer

    XP included

    Sound card installed

    12 months guarantee

    12 Months Norton AV

    No cables, screen, mouse etc (I already have them anyway). or even a box LOL.

    £170 inc vat.

    Tested it instore & it's fine, connected it at home & its great except irritating Packard Bell promotional stuff popping up occasionally so I need to get rid of it somehow.

    I think it's good for the price, what do you think?

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    HAVE I GOT A GOOD DEAL?

    Bl66dy right you have If I'd have been there I'd have faught you for that
    Enjoy it mate, they don't come along like that every day
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  3. #3
    Regular Member denzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Runcorn
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ion,

    That is a fantastic price, if you have the XP discs you can re-install without all the OEM stuff on it

  4. #4
    Regular Member ion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Guys.
    I thought it was good cos I was looking to upgrade & this one seemed way above the other machines such as Del, and cheaper as well.

    I don't have the disks Denzo, XP is pre installed.

    There's a sticker with the XP No on.

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ion
    533Mhz Front side BUS (Whatever the hell that means)
    That's just the speed the motherboard sends data around. 533MHz is good.
    Quote Originally Posted by ion
    I think it's good for the price, what do you think?
    Abso-friggin-lutely!! Fantastic price for the spec - lucky bu**er! I'd have fought you for it!! Would have made an excellent replacement for my secondary PC!
    Quote Originally Posted by ion
    I don't have the disks Denzo, XP is pre installed.

    There's a sticker with the XP No on.
    Not a problem in that case. See if you can 'borrow' a set of XP discs from someone and reinstall it using the key code on your sticker. That'll still be legit as you have the license for XP already, you're just using a different set of discs to reinstall. Then you can reload any of the software that came with it.

    HTH

    D

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan
    See if you can 'borrow' a set of XP discs from someone and reinstall it using the key code on your sticker. That'll still be legit as you have the license for XP already, you're just using a different set of discs to reinstall. Then you can reload any of the software that came with it.

    D
    The hardware alone is worth more than you paid. Top deal

  7. #7
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    blimey ian.

    Damn good deal you got there m8.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the advice & help guys.

    Tim, the store was Curry's by junc 9, they had some other pcs & various things such as flatscreens etc really cheap. Pop in & have a look, maybe everything will be gone today but you never know.

    They are all ex demo etc. but good value & full guarantee.

  9. #9
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well found that man!...ok it's a PB, but for that money who cares!

  10. #10
    Regular Member ion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Right everyone, advice needed (again!) please.

    I've set up Outlook Express & finally got my emails working. (Ahem, Only took four goes so not too bad )

    All seems fine except that it asks for the account password every time you go in & won't let you select the remember password option (It's shaded).

    Any ideas how I can enable this option?

    Cheers,

    Ian

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone else think this is a good deal?
    By ridgers84 in forum General Motoring Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th April 2012, 09:54
  2. Is this a good deal...
    By coldo in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 31st August 2011, 16:13
  3. is this a good deal?
    By chrissri82 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th October 2009, 19:19
  4. Was this a good deal?
    By blues n twos in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th October 2008, 20:50
  5. Would this be a good deal....?
    By Jamie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd April 2006, 10:57

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •