User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New Internet Comms Provider needed

  1. #1
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default New Internet Comms Provider needed

    Heres a question for all the IT techies out there.

    We are hoping to move to new work premises soon and so we need to sort out a new Internet Comms solution.

    We are currently very lucky as we are renting 4MB of bandwith from a neighbouring company.

    ADSL will not do as we have a people who work from home and other sites that all connect via VPN so we will be sending out just as much traffic as we receive.

    A 2MB SDSL would have been ok for us. But checking our new offices with Bt it turns out we cannot get SDSL.

    What are our other options? Is it straight to T1??

    Thanks,

    Mark

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calne, Wiltshire, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    Here in Europe it's E1, and runs at 2.048Mbps
    However, have a look at BT's "Flex" Pipe.... it's price is pretty reasonable, and as the name implies can be increased and decresed in Bandwidth at any point.
    I think it's starts at 2Mbps, and goes to 12 or 15, can't remember.
    Short of this take a look at a DS1 or DS2, however these are only multiples of ISDN. so would need to make sure your Exchange is ISDN Capable first.

    Any fatser than that and you could well need the OC Catagory of lines... mega-bucks

    Cheers

    Matt

  3. #3
    Regular Member steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


  4. #4
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the reply.

    I have looked on the BT.com site and can't find anything related to "flex".
    I don't think its a great site to navigate around, they just seem to want to promote ADSL or SDSL.

    Is it called anything else??

  5. #5
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Just done a google search for BT Flex...

    ... and get a lot of entries like this...
    http://www.bodytoners.co.uk/products...one/flexbt.htm

    Nice but not what I am after :-)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calne, Wiltshire, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marky View Post
    Just done a google search for BT Flex...

    ... and get a lot of entries like this...
    http://www.bodytoners.co.uk/products...one/flexbt.htm

    Nice but not what I am after :-)

    Indeed..

    I think it's this one now....
    http://www2.bt.com/btPortal/applicat...ucts/btnet.xml

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ta for that.

    Looks like what we are after. Is it a leased line, sounds like it from the link.

    Will pass it on to the boss...

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calne, Wiltshire, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It can be run over a leased line, yes.
    It can also be run over Metro Ethernet..

    BT will suggest the best method given your location.
    A Leased line can be a bit more expensive.

    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Best network provider-mobile phone signal
    By Craig1985 in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2nd September 2012, 21:07
  2. Internet at last
    By Happy Girl in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 23:15
  3. Internet Service Provider - ISP
    By arkhan78 in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 26th July 2010, 23:26
  4. Urgent internet security help needed
    By Ste in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th March 2007, 14:30
  5. internet why pay???
    By vectra 2.0 t in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22nd April 2006, 20:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •