User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Poll: Have you installed a 2nd hand VX radio

  1. #1
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Poll: Have you installed a 2nd hand VX radio

    Since knackering my CD30 installing the HK Drive & Play I have been thinking of getting another off ebay. But its really confusing.

    Some people say the unit has to be 'divorced' from the original car then 'married' to the new car.
    Some say that rubbush.

    Now, this morning, I have phoned a few dealers to see what I would have to do to get a 2nd hand unit into my car.

    They all said that all you need is the Code and the serial number of the radio. Its a job you can do yourself no need to bring into the dealer. One even suggested Halfords doing it!!!!!!!!!!

    So now I am confused.

    So the best way to sort this out would be to do a poll of the people who have swapped out there original unit for another 2nd hand one.

    Thanks,

    Mark

    Could you all please add the following info:

    Year of Car: eg 2005
    Original Radio model: eg CD30
    New Radio Model: eg CD30

    Needed Tech2 back into car: Y/N
    Worked with supplied code: Y/N
    Other method: specify

  2. #2
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    OK no need for a Poll I have concluded the following answer from all the ebay adverts and forums etc.

    The bit that was really confusing was that VX dealers were mostly saying you just need to eneter the code in the radio. But my car was supplied by VX and there is no Radio code on my Car Pass, the correct radio is listed and every other code is there.

    I phoned the VX support line and they were no help, didn't understand my question.

    Anyway, this is what I have found.

    As usual its all dependant on the Half/Full canbus system in the car.

    6 buttons on the steering wheel = Half Canbus
    4 buttons and 2 scroll wheels = Full Canbus

    On Full Canbus systems the Radio is coded to the car (probably by the VIN) and needs to be "divorced" out of the original car via Tech2 (the radio should then be in "Delivery mode") and then 'Married' to the new car by Tech2.

    On Half Canbus systems when power is lost and then resupplied the radio will ask for the security code.

    Hope this helps other people.

    Mark

  3. #3
    Regular Member jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    slaming doors since 1976
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    so it that case its a dealer job unless you go to a grarage where they have a tech2 i know halfords in my are of west london dont and thats a few of them so dont go halfords unless its a aftermarket part there no good at dealer stuff thats my experience with them tho. not slagging them off or anything.... honest.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yup, its pretty much a dealer job.

    The odd VX independant and maybe ICE shop may be able to do it, but I think the proper Tech2 kit costs around £3000 so they would need to do alot of tech2-ing to recover that cost.

    I have seen the a couple of people on ebay that say they can put the radio into delivery mode for you (therefore 'divorcing' from the car without the car). But at around £25 plus the cost of getting the radio to them it isn't much cheaper than the dealer.

    As usual if youve got Full Canbus your bound by the evil Tech2 device...

  5. #5
    Regular Member jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    slaming doors since 1976
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    id go dealer if annthing does go wrong with ebay its as u buy it but it i dont know what warranty if any is on such parts.its up to its my opioin tho mate.
    Last edited by jack; 21st February 2008 at 10:14. Reason: not had cofee yet!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've decided to get the unit repaired.

    I could spend weeks trying to find the right one on ebay.

    For £75+vat my radio will be collected, fixed and delivered back to me by courier. Also the repair is warrantied for 6 months.

    Sounds like the sensible option to me.
    Last edited by Marky; 21st February 2008 at 10:46.

  7. #7
    Regular Member jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    slaming doors since 1976
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sounds great good luck marky.

  8. #8
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    south wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    from what i have just read is that 6 button wheel you will need the stereo and the code that came with that stereo not yours,and for the 4 button 2 scroll you have to go with tech 2 is that right

  9. #9
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    jack: Thanks.

    Vectrac20tsri: yes you are right.

    What I don't know is what happens if you stick a radio out of a Half Canbus car into a Full Canbus car?

    I assume you can't put a radio from a Full Canbus car into a Half Canbus car because you will not have the code for the radio.

  10. #10
    Regular Member jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    slaming doors since 1976
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i dont think matters i think you can change any radio unit via tech2 to half or full canbus.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. gid installed
    By Al 22 dti in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st March 2011, 17:53
  2. How to tell if theres a re-map installed???
    By cammy3000 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st January 2011, 16:27
  3. Double din installed at last
    By jackster in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd October 2009, 22:28
  4. HIDs Installed ish
    By JSYSH466Y in forum Styling
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 5th February 2009, 23:57
  5. New ICE installed
    By Caterman in forum ICE Gallery
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 22nd September 2006, 04:14

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •