User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speedo playing dead again ...

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Luton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Speedo playing dead again ...

    55 reg 2.2 Signum .... after quite a few months of no problems, Wifey started the car at the local supermarket and hey presto - no speedo, tacho, fuel, or temperature read out. Previous experience (twice) is that if the car is re-started, all Instruments wake up, and no diagnostic codes are posted. Wifey knew if the engine was turned off Mr Vx Main Dealer would not see the problem so she had the presence of mind to take it in and leave the engine running .... Yes, Mrs, my those instruments are playing doggo. Twenty mintes later with Tech 2 ..... and you have guessed it - no codes posted ! Others have suggested the CIM module but Mr Main Dealer won't change it unless they get a code ....

  2. #2
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Think it has to it something like 25 times for a code to be stored.

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    Think it has to it something like 25 times for a code to be stored.
    other way round. It takes 25 starts to clear a stored fault code. Could it be a loose connection? if its under warranty, they have seen the fault, leave it with them until they fix it. They cannot deny it has the fault as they have seen it! take it back!
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    other way round. It takes 25 starts to clear a stored fault code.
    I think it's a lot longer than that. A stored fault code on my Elite took approx 30 days before it cleared.

  5. #5
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    I had the same problem once so far, though I had broken it cos it was on the rolling road. Spoke to another member and they had the same aswell so it's quite common I believe.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'd still insist they change the CIM...that will be faulty even if it's not coding..

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Luton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question Update from Dealer

    Mr Dealer (Evans Halshaw) reckons there can be a similar problem with the Astra H. The cause there is that people jump in and drive off, not giving the system enough time to fully initialise from the key. Not sure I follow that .... and I did not think we did that we were `Quick Draw McGraw' with the key, but we are going to try to give the car more `wake up' time after the key has been inserted, as the problem has only happened just after drive away. Thanks for replies.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. been playing with my Speedo
    By marc vectra sri in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 28th January 2013, 00:34
  2. No one else playing Far Cry 3 ?
    By Ian-Highlander in forum Games Room
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th December 2012, 18:55
  3. dashboard dead (no rev, speedo, lights)
    By Swatty in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 7th December 2011, 13:31
  4. Dead speedo and rev counter
    By omega2498 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th March 2007, 00:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •