User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can Vauxhall tell you have a box or remap?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Can Vauxhall tell if you have a box or remap?

    Folks

    in the event my cdti needs to go into vauxhall for anything engine related, can they tell if the car has had a tuning box on (if I remove it before it goes in) or an ecu remap?

    Would also value info on which insurers are ok with re-maps / tuning boxes and if folks have told their existing insurance co?

    thanks
    Mark
    Last edited by markbebb; 27th December 2005 at 00:06.

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Once the tuning box (plug & play) is removed it's completely untraceable. I'm not sure about the ECU remap, but Vx can overwrite it though.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The Tech 2 can tell if you have had a remap and chances are they will reset or default your ECU in the event of a problem which will LOSE your map, anyone claiming otherwise shouldnt do, we also provide remaps and remapping equipment AND the Tech 2 so we know the score here. A module should not show up though a fault with the CR sensor can if you set it too high

  4. #4
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The facts regarding re-maps in Vauxhall cars.

    If your car has been re-mapped, Tech 2 cannot see the map unless the operator delves deeper into the map to check the boost pressures etc. But by simply checking the ECU will show the map as standard.

    Example, The latest Zafira GSi has map programme 3378, when this car is re-mapped via serial programming the 3378 programme is extracted from the ECU, modified then put back into the ECU, so as far as Tech 2 is concerned 3378 is still there and does not show any changes. Tech 2 does not have the capabilities of checking actual map address's so again changes can't be seen. If the ECU was removed and sent back to vauxhall and the map studied on a PC then of course the changes can be found.

    But a dealer cannot see the map change by simply looking into the ECU.

    Regarding over writing the map, if the car has the latest version of software from TIS, ie : Zafira 3378, TIS and Tech 2 will not allow you to re-install the same level of software. there are ways around it by changing the chassis number by one digit and re-writing, but no dealer would have any reason to do this.

    They would simply check that it has the latest programme and know the latest can't be re-installed directly.

    I have two ECU's for my Zafira, one standard and one re-mapped, to check the theory I put one of the ECU's on the car and got my dealer to see which one was re-mapped, from 'normal' operating procedures with Tech 2, they could not tell which one was the re-mapped ECU. Going deeper to find boost pressures etc is not that easy to do and the average operator does not know how to.

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    That's exactly my understanding as well Matt - hence why I'm not concerned about having a remap in my car. Vx would have to have some very serious suspicions about a car to send the ECU off to Vx for them to delve deeper. And that's what I like so much about my remap - I can revert back to the original map whenever I want.

    I always revert back to original spec when it goes into the dealers, just so that it's as standard. For the 7 odd minutes it takes, it's not a big deal.

    D

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    Has anyone got any more information about a remap for the 3.2 v6 yet?. can they be remaped yet.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There are certian maps about for the 3.2, but your not going to see much improvement on a normally aspirated car.

    Your best bet would be to improve the breathing of the car which could give more than a re-map.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. VAUXHALL VECTRA 1.9 CDTI SRI [150] remap
    By leedslads in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th September 2013, 01:19
  2. Insignia Thorney Motorsport Vauxhall approved remap now available......
    By blues n twos in forum Insignia car chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th May 2012, 20:29
  3. vauxhall vectra DTI remap
    By leedslads in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd July 2011, 11:57
  4. Thorney Motorsport remap and Vauxhall warranty? Anyone clued up??
    By Old man Jimbo in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 1st August 2009, 13:06
  5. Vauxhall detecting a Remap/Chip
    By suj786 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11th February 2006, 21:11

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •