User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suspension "bangs", and where to place axle stands?

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Suspension "bangs", and where to place axle stands?

I'm a complete novice to repairing cars and I have never really done anything apart from refilling the screenwash and changing wheels when I've had a puncture!

But I'm fed up with paying extorniate money to garages to fix things which i might be able to do myself.

My problem at the moment is my 1.9 04 reg Vectra CDTI 120.

The suspension (or something else?) is making a "banging" from the rear right side of my car. This happens when I drive on uneven roads. It's like it's bottoming out and something is hitting the underside. It doesn't necesarilly happen if I drive straight over a speed bump, only on uneven roads and when I drive slowly (20mph or less). If i drive fast over the same road it's fine and I hear no banging noise.

I sent the car to my garage (recommended by a friend) and they replaced the rear shocks as they were leaking....apparently. It did get slightly better for a while, but it's now back again.

I refuse to pay the garage again to check this out so I'm going to do a quick service on the car myself. I've bough a Haynes manual for my car and I will pop into halfords today to buy a trolley jack and I want to have a look for myself and try to learn a bit about how to fix or diagnose things myself. If I can find the fault I can buy the part myself and tell the garage to fix it, thus paying less in the long run.

My questions are:

1. Any idea what this "banging" can be?