User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: cruise control wonky

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney AUSTRALIA
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default cruise control wonky

    folks

    my new 2005 CDXi (gsi/gtr) has 900 klms on the clock now. It seems to be very temperamental when it comes to cruise control.

    i can activate the cruise control driving at anything over 30kph per the manual and it will cruise along, albeit a little choppily but then when i get onto a freeway and try to set the cruise at about 110kph it wont come on - in fact it wont come on again at any speed until I turn off the car and restart it and then its the same... on at suburban speeds but no go on the freeway

    is this some sort of failsafe to prevent running the engine at high revs consistently during the run in period or is my cruise control whacked? cant find anything about this in the manual

    tony

  2. #2
    Regular Member jacenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bydgoszcz / Poland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    something is wrong m8.

    I have no problem with activating cruise control at all. I always drive with speeds up to 210 km/h Through Germany with activated cruise control.

    Sometimes it wont activate at any speed, and without need of turning off the car I simply push break pedal and then it starts to work properly.

    Try this m8.

  3. #3
    Regular Member lborob17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Rainy Derbyshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tony - its quite a well known problem over here! - It affected mine at 12K miles - under warranty I had a new 'sim' module fitted - been fine ever since (25K now)

    on mine it was setting ok then if I switched it off (pressing the brake or accel) it would only switch back on occasionaly - if it did not the only way of using it again was to switch off the ignition and start the car again (re-boot!)

    Rich

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Something fishy ....

    The cruisecontrol should work from 30kph up to 200 .... and the fact thats its a new car shouldnt make a difference.

    Let the dealer check it with the tech2!

  5. #5
    Regular Member jacenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bydgoszcz / Poland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I prefer this kind of error rather then one that happens in Renault - when the cruise control wont deactivate.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney AUSTRALIA
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks chaps for the speedy reply - will add this to the list for the first service @1500klm next week. Anyone got any idea about the radio remote buttons on the wheel issue i posted earlier today in the ICE thread?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jacenty
    Sometimes it wont activate at any speed, and without need of turning off the car I simply push break pedal and then it starts to work properly.
    True! ...

    Quote from the owners manual:

    "For safety reasons, cruise control cannot be activated until
    the foot brake has been activated"

  8. #8
    Regular Member blr123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dundee, scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well mine has been temperamental from day one (4th May 04), it's been into Vauxhall more times than I care to remember probably about 18 now

    Bryan

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    @kojarena,

    I've had problems with my cruise control, and I'm still not convinced that Holden have resolved them all.

    1. Cruise control wouldn't activate - "fixed" by replacing CIM (Column Information Module)
    2. Occasional failures since - Holden claim that it's because I'm not using the brake before trying to use the CC, as per @Techwolf's comment; Holden don't seem to think it's worth mentioning in the Aussie owner's manuals (apparently not enough Australians buy manual cars...)
    3. I've seen several suggestions that some of the clutch switches are a bit dodgy, but I haven't been able to verify the operation on my car

    When my CC works it'll happily have the engine operating at 6000 revs/min if that's what's needed.

    Hope you get it sorted out

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney AUSTRALIA
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i would say its likely to be the Column Information Module as its an auto tranny - works fine sometimes and then no show other times. I read the manual and tried the whole braking etc but still no use. Spoke to a mate who has an 03 model with the same issue but in manual.

    going to the dealer next week for 1500klm service so they can fix it then

    thanks
    t

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cruise control.
    By Hyperhart in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 20:02
  2. Cruise Control :(
    By paddyvectra in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th October 2011, 01:26
  3. Cruise Control...
    By AngryDog in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th July 2009, 12:30
  4. manual control or cruise control.
    By johnm in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th February 2008, 14:20
  5. Cruise Control
    By ballogie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 4th February 2007, 03:42

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •