User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: K&N Air Filter upgrade, ECU Reset?

  1. #1
    Regular Member VXR CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default K&N Air Filter upgrade, ECU Reset?

    Just fitted a K&N panel air filter to my 1.9 cdti veccy then proceeded to take the '+' terminal off the battery and my alarm went off! Thought thats what i had 2 do, any1 know what im doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Regular Member VXR CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any1?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Portadown, N.I.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You have to switch on the ignition, loosen the + terminal, then remove key and within 15 secs, whip off the battery terminal.

    Tim

  4. #4
    Regular Member VXR CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ill give it a go cheers!

  5. #5
    Regular Member VXR CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It worked , how long do i leave the + terminal off for now?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    ....another 10 mins

  7. #7
    Regular Member VectraV6CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wilts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Now it will never ever start again













































    ONLY JOKING

  8. #8
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Anyway, why did you take off the +ve terminal?

    Normal (and safe) practice is to disconnect the -ve....

  9. #9
    Regular Member rmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Why do you need to even disconnect it when changing the air filter? (Warning: rmt - minimum knowledge man! )

  10. #10
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    By disconnecting the battery, you reset the ECU and it can adjust more quickly to the increased airflow through the new filter. You don't need to do it, but it would take the ECU much longer to adapt, and you wouldn't notice the change as quickly.

    HTH

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. I'd Love a Panel Filter Upgrade but.........
    By robster23 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th August 2009, 22:26
  2. Air filter intake upgrade
    By shan in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 16:35
  3. k&n filter and ecu reset ?
    By learoy69 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th March 2008, 22:10
  4. air filter upgrade
    By tent01 in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th August 2007, 18:25

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •