User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: electrician?????

  1. #1
    Regular Member coylo5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    n.ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default electrician?????

    is it possible to take a light switch out and put in a plug socket.

  2. #2
    Regular Member j13hdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Am no electrician but if it's good wire that can take the ampage then I see no reason why not!!!

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cirencester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Plug or Socket? they dont do both

  4. #4
    Regular Member coylo5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    n.ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    one of these

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not really as the light circuit is fused at a much lower amperage than a socket ring main, mainly due to the fact its only got a few 100 watts of lights on it, not kettles. Also if someone didn't know what you had done and took the fuse out for the ring main then worked on your socket, it would still be live. Very bad pratice and a no in my book.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    Regular Member ade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    leicestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    no can do, lighting is generally wired in either 1mm or 1.5 T&E. power circuits need to be in 2.5 T&E. also the breaker or fuse wont be man enough to take power used by whatever you plug in. Although if you do decide to go down this route anyway please give me a shout after your house burns down and kills your family then i can come and give you a quote to rewire the property. thats if your alive

  7. #7
    Regular Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On another planet
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2.0l CDTi Bi-Turbo Insginia Sports Tourer

    Trim : Vx Line Nav Sri

    Engine : 2.0

    Year : 2014

    Default

    No. Absolutly not. For one, it's against the regs (17th ed now) and it will only be fused at 6A etc, etc. Also, how are you going to turn the lights on/off?

    I also seem to think that BigPete is a sparky. (i was, but not current with the new regs) I'm sure he'll be along to advise..
    Last edited by ghostrider; 10th February 2008 at 19:40.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    leicestershire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thought that although you can now sit your 17th edition , they dont come into effect till june??? im stillusing my 16th and have been told by my boss that i dont have to be 17th till end of june

  9. #9
    Regular Member coylo5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    n.ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ok. it wasnt me anyway it was a mate, he'll just have to stop being a skinflint and get a real spark in and wire a proper one. thanks for your relpy's

  10. #10
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Hi Coylo, Dont do it m8.. Regardless of the cable and fuse / mcb sizes the Chances are the switch wont have a neutral, 90% of switches are wired in 3plate wiring which consists of 1 permanent live and 1 switch line, Sometimes you'll find a neutral in switches that have been added on but its still a no no..
    17th edition doesn't come into effect until the 1st July.. I start my update course tomorrow..

    I see things like this day in day out in my line of work as an NICEIC electrical test & inspection engineer, and i fail them everytime..
    Last edited by Big-Pete; 10th February 2008 at 19:57.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. auto electrician
    By SarahP in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 22nd November 2012, 09:35
  2. Question for an electrician..
    By snapsnap in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd January 2012, 15:23
  3. auto electrician
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 14:56
  4. auto electrician
    By leelfc150 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 27th February 2011, 15:23
  5. HELP!! Need an electrician
    By jamesr in forum General Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th October 2009, 13:47

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •