User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Wireless web jobbo thingy...

  1. #1
    Regular Member JCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Oh, I forgot to remember!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Wireless web jobbo thingy...

    I'm not into geek speak (apologies to any geeks), but all I know is that I want to get wireless internet around my house, instead of the box and wire I have now.....what are the best ones and what prices am I looking at - don't just want to go into Currys and buy the first thing I see for £40....

    I'll only be using the web in one or two rooms, so it doesn't need to fire its signal to the other end of the street.....

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i use a netgear router ... despite how folks hate them it's been 100% rock solid for over 5 yrs now..

  3. #3
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Me too.. Used Netgear for a long time aswell and had no problems with any if their kit, and its easy to setup..

  4. #4
    Regular Member Dodger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    i use a netgear router ... despite how folks hate them it's been 100% rock solid for over 5 yrs now..

  5. #5
    Regular Member JCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Oh, I forgot to remember!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Done, done and done....thanks

    Oh, and how much and is there different models?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I got one lying around the house I'll do for half the retail if you so wish, Never been used.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Quinton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    are you on bt landline or cable? As this will alter what router/modem you need (if you intend on replacing the modem and having 1 box).

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Quinton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ps i favour belkin, nice,cheap, reliable - does exactly what is says on the tin

  9. #9
    Regular Member JCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Oh, I forgot to remember!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickzx6r View Post
    are you on bt landline or cable? As this will alter what router/modem you need (if you intend on replacing the modem and having 1 box).
    ?

    I'm on Virgin Cable, it comes through the wall into a black box with lights on it, then through a telephone type wire into my laptop....thats all I know...

    I want to replace the box with the wire for something that emits magic internet waves so I can get porn in every room of my house....

  10. #10
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    I think you may need to connect a wirelss router into your existing virgin modem, Ive no experience of Cable as the village where i live hasn't even got gas so we've no chance of cable..
    I have a netgear wireless router which plugs into a modem, your more than welcome to it if its of any use to you? I'll find the details of it and let you know if you want it?

    Might be worth an email to these people, they'll tell you what you need for Virgin cable
    http://www.broadbandstuff.co.uk/inde...a196e71244de5b
    Last edited by Big-Pete; 8th February 2008 at 16:37.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. speedo thingy
    By paul.sessions in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th March 2011, 20:08
  2. mot thingy
    By neverlandandy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th February 2011, 18:48
  3. Clicker thingy...
    By Danwells72 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th March 2008, 00:46
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 10:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •