User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Head unit help

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .....

    Trim : .....

    Engine : ....

    Year : .....

    Default Head unit help

    im fitting in my sony mp3 player.

    i know from the advice on here that im best going to vauxhall for the facia kit for the single din unit.

    1. - what do i ask for?
    2. - does it come with wiring to connect my sony to the full canbus ( mines is a 2008 sri )?
    3. - will fitting an aftermarket unit disable the computer screen and if not what features will i still have on the screen?
    and
    4. - will my steering wheel controls still work or do i need to get extra wiring?

  2. #2
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    yes you do need the vx "single din adaptor" and ask for just that, load's of colour's to choose from though,

    the wiring you get with it will let you connect up to car can-bus system just need's a permanant live fitting from cig lighter........blue one if i remember correctly

    get the sony interface addaptor for you steering remotes to work properly £50.00ish from car audio centre's

    hth
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  3. #3
    Regular Member kns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    on the sony you need to put the yellow wire to the red wire on one block and the red to yellow on the other

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .....

    Trim : .....

    Engine : ....

    Year : .....

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ditchp View Post
    yes you do need the vx "single din adaptor" and ask for just that, load's of colour's to choose from though,

    the wiring you get with it will let you connect up to car can-bus system just need's a permanant live fitting from cig lighter........blue one if i remember correctly

    get the sony interface addaptor for you steering remotes to work properly £50.00ish from car audio centre's

    hth
    what price are we talking about?

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Read the HU manual, you should have a couple of bayonet connectors that you can swap over to create perm live.

  6. #6
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    facia and loom about £35 - £38 inc vat

    and yes you can just put red to yellow and yellow to red as a permanant live set up......
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .....

    Trim : .....

    Engine : ....

    Year : .....

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ditchp View Post
    facia and loom about £35 - £38 inc vat

    and yes you can just put red to yellow and yellow to red as a permanant live set up......
    cool bud............vx tomorrow on the way home from work.

  8. #8
    Regular Member kns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i paid £40 for my facia when fitted i preferd the origonal stereo so once i get time i will post a pcture of the facia and sony CDX-F7500 mp3 player as i will be selling them.
    Last edited by kns; 3rd February 2008 at 19:43.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .....

    Trim : .....

    Engine : ....

    Year : .....

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kns View Post
    i paid £40 for my facia when fitted i preferd the origonal stero so once i get time i will post a pcture of the facia and sony CDX-F7500 mp3 player as i will be selling them.
    can u answer this one.

    if i buy a cd30 mp3............from another vectra will this be able to be fitted to my car?

    i know that i would need to get it tech 2'd but i was told,that if the unit has been fitted to another car,then its no good at all, as the ecu has to comminicate with the unit.

    was the guy talking bull or is this the truth?

  10. #10
    Regular Member kns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it needs to be tech 2'd from the donor car to work in yours as far as i remember so it will work in yours

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My new head unit..
    By monkeez in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 5th October 2009, 07:40
  2. Head Unit
    By vauxhall4life in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th February 2008, 11:24
  3. New Head unit
    By IBarfoot in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st April 2007, 09:40
  4. New head-unit
    By Christof in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th March 2007, 19:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •