User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: kenwood dnx7200 install questions

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    falkirk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default kenwood dnx7200 install questions

    Was thinking of getting one of these as the current factory fit CD30 just switches itself on when car is locked & DRAINS BATTERY. spoke to vauxhall garage & says its common & unit needs replacing. £401 for unit & add half an hrs labour to tech2 it in.

    so iam abit unsure about whats needed & just need clarification, its 54 plate sri with cd30 with scroll/thumb wheel either side

    what confuses me about the parts is most say january 2005 onwards or cd30. i have cd30 so i think i should get those parts & also got the car in december 2004 so iam not that faraway from 2005

    went here http://www.justkenwood.co.uk/install/show_model.aspand think i need these following parts could you please help

    Fascia fitting adaptor from 2003 to 2005 Part reference: CAW1232-02( i know i defo need this)

    now these two leads control steering but iam not sure which one
    September 2002 to January 2005
    Provides remote control connectivity for vehicles with multiplexed wiring systems
    For Vectras with square dashboard display (display will be lost)
    Part reference: PC99-X45-KEN

    & this its for 2005 onwards which would mean it wouldn`t suit but i have the cd30 stereo at 3-9 position which suggest it would work?

    January 2005 onwards
    Models originally fitted with 'two digit' factory radio (eg. Model 'CD30'
    Steering wheel remote controls positioned in the 3 and 9 o'clock positions for thumb operation
    Part reference: PC99-X80-KEN

    also looking to keep display believe the above would do that?

    do i need any of these?

    Vauxhall Vectra wiring adaptors
    October 1995 to January 2005
    converts the car's original power and speakers wiring connector to a standard ISO connector
    Part reference: PC2-04-4

    areial adaptor
    January 2005 onwards
    Models originally fitted with 'two digit' factory radio (eg. Model 'CD30'
    Restores power supply to booster circuit built into aerial's base, lost when factory-fitted radio is removed
    part ref PC5-137

    or if i need both above would this do?

    Combined aerial and wiring adaptor january 2005 onwards
    Part reference: PC2-85-4

    from I understand the unit has satnav built in so no need to fit areial etc
    & should all connections be push fit with no need to cut & connect??

    has any one fitted these in there car or got any pics?

    any help with parts & fitting would be great help for a very confused person

    many thanks

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes you do need to fit an gps areial .
    the best place to fit the gps areial is take the air vents out above the radio and fit ontop of the airvent pipe

    you do need the fitting kit as the cage that comes with the 7200 is to large

    the good news you can load speed camera onto the unit

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    No idea....
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My gps aerial, usb, ipod connections go through where the glovebox light is and is mounted on the top of the glovebox, works fine! Takes 20secs to aquire sat's after switching on.
    Everything should be push fit, I did have to cut and join a wire for the switched live though, I think, struggle to remember now!

    I imagine you could use the combined aeral and wiring instead of buying them seperately, prob save a few quid...? I didnt have a cd30 but a ccr2006 so didnt need a booster.

    My install: http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread.php?t=47001

  4. #4
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisgettings View Post
    yes you do need to fit an gps areial .
    the best place to fit the gps areial is take the air vents out above the radio and fit ontop of the airvent pipe

    you do need the fitting kit as the cage that comes with the 7200 is to large

    the good news you can load speed camera onto the unit
    hi chris will be fitting a double din tommorrow!! my question is if the cage for the stereo is too big how does the radio fit in cause that cage is designed for the stereo? also does the black cage off the original stereo have to come out?
    cheers

  5. #5
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes the original black cage needs to come out guys but in the double din kit you get another cage which fits perfectly

  6. #6
    Regular Member vectragsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lochgilp View Post
    Yes the original black cage needs to come out guys but in the double din kit you get another cage which fits perfectly

    cheers for that mate but if the cage is smaller will the stereo fit in it?

  7. #7
    Full Member lochgilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    argyll
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes mate its a perfect fit

  8. #8
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if you buy the fitting kit it will fit but as you say yes the cage is to big

    all the ones if fitted we have cut the top of the cage away and make it all fit

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. kenwood install help
    By Keithy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th October 2010, 21:42
  2. New Kenwood DVD install
    By RobDMX in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 23rd September 2008, 20:19
  3. New Kenwood DNX-5220BT Install
    By bluebirds1975 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 24th July 2008, 10:50
  4. CDR2005 with kenwood DNX7200
    By piggeh in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th March 2008, 22:45
  5. Kenwood sat nav install
    By stingyzoidberg in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 22:59

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •