User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: DAB interface from CDC 40 Opera

  1. #1
    Regular Member grigs1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bucharest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default DAB interface from CDC 40 Opera

    I just replace the original CD30 with CDC 40 DAB. It is working well, but when I tried to select DAB option I received "DAB box error" messege. So, maybe I need a addition unit which is DAB receiver and it should be connected to DAB pins from HeadUnit (DAB_L, DAB_R and DAB_GND, see the picture).
    Due to the fact that I can not use Ph+ and Ph- for AUX In stereo, I'm thinking to use the DAB pins for AUX IN stereo. What do you thing about that?
    Is it possible or I can demange the DAB interface if I connect an auxiliar input source.
    If not, what si the DAB interface and why the DAB receiver is not buit-in the HeadUnit?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member DeathStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UP North
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes you need th DAB aerial and the DAB control unit.

    Not sure of the PN's

    But you will not get DAB without those

  3. #3
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes, you will need the DAB box and the aerial, and most likely an extra extension to the loom (plus probably Tech2 it to the car/HU). I believe the DAB box lives in one of the foot wells.

    I doubt if you will be able to use the DAB L, R and GND pins for an external input as somehow the HU will need to be switched over to DAB - how that will happen without the DAB box I don't know.

    As to why its separate I would think its either a lack of space in the HU (despite being a double DIN) or to avoid interference by placing the BOX elsewhere in the car, away from other sources etc.

    Instead of trying to transplant a CDC40 it may be cheaper to look at the Blaupunkt range of HUs with DAB.

  4. #4
    Regular Member DeathStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UP North
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes tha DAB unit lives tucked on the bulk head behind the fan housing on the passenger side when its as factory fit option.

  5. #5
    Regular Member grigs1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bucharest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So, the DAB box is also connected to the CAN interface like HU. Thus the DAB interface can't be used for audio IN because the HU check on CAN if DAB box is presented and the DAB interface is disable. Is it true?

    From where I can buy this DAB box to be compatible with CDC 40 Opera?

  6. #6
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grigs1 View Post
    So, the DAB box is also connected to the CAN interface like HU. Thus the DAB interface can't be used for audio IN because the HU check on CAN if DAB box is presented and the DAB interface is disable. Is it true?

    From where I can buy this DAB box to be compatible with CDC 40 Opera?
    Yes the head unit looks for the Dab unit before it enables the channels.

    Dab box and mount is from VX plus depending on the wiring in your car u will have to make up a harness so u will need the connector to the Dab box. Some wires (2) go to the screen above the HU. The rest connect to the HU. Just finished this job on mine.

  7. #7
    Regular Member grigs1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bucharest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I found in TIS2000 for 2008 car models, the DAB pins from CDC40 are shared between DAB and AUX-In. So, maybe if I enabled the Aux-In feature using TechII I can use these pins as inputs. See the attached picture. My CDC40 model are from 2005.
    What do you think about that?

  8. #8
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Interesting, all you can do is try it

  9. #9
    Regular Member grigs1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bucharest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I tried to enable AUX using Tech2, but there is no option. Maybe I need to upgrade the firmware for CDC40 Opera. Where I can find such firmware?
    The second solution is to have a DAb Box and to use a switch for Aux-In.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Craig1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    harwich essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    any news on this?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ODB Interface
    By Golfboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 14:12
  2. My LED conversion/CID interface
    By stampede in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st September 2010, 00:29
  3. ELM 323 Interface
    By frenchman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd October 2009, 22:19
  4. Can Bus Interface
    By bnam in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th August 2008, 11:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

dab box error vauxhall

error on dab radio box for vauxhall

cdc40 opera replace dab aux

cdc40 aux dab error

vauxhall vectra dab box error

vectra c dab box error

vauxhall vectra radio says DAB box error www.vectra-c.com

Signum dab error

cdc40 opera dab box error

dab box error

cdc40 opera dab box error site:www.vectra-c.com

reset dab box error vauxhall

vectra c reset dab radio

vectra cdc40 opera firmware

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •