User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Replace stereo for a "Carputer" ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Replace stereo for a "Carputer" ?

    Hi All, I'm making my return after a few months off! The car will be out of action soon to have a new rear bumper as someone bumped into me the other day, however, i'm starting to make plans for the next mod.

    Some of you may remember my mid dash screen replacement... didn't really do much and i killed it when trying to take it out to put the power connector back in (bl00dy thing kept falling out). It got stuck so i yanked it out and snapped the PCB!

    I've decided to put the original screen back in, it was nice having the clock and temperature, however, i plan to stick a 7" touch screen in there somewhere and hook up a carputer.

    The only place i can think of where it would fit nicely and have an OEM look would be to fit one where the stereo is. This unfortunately means i'd have no stereo which brings me to my question....

    I can guess that wiring up the cars speakers to the output of a computer isn't going to sound great. I thought i could perhaps go through an amp first but i'm trying to keep the cost down.

    Does anyone have any recommendations? I was thinking of perhaps trying to fit a single din HU in the hole underneath the heater knobs and running the sound from the computer through that.

    I'm in the process of photoshoping some pictures to see what it would look like so i'll post some at a later stage (unless someone has done something similar and wants to post their pics??). I don't like the idea of mounting a screen to the dash as it wouldn't last long in this aera!! lol

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated... Oh, and it's good to be back.. finally!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    can't remember the username but there is someone on here that has a carputer in his vec, i'm sure he'll be a great source of information.

    someone will be along who can remember his name.

    welcome back BTW

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cirencester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    csnet is his user. called terran i think

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cirencester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  5. #5
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the info.. i noticed he's used a mount for the screen.. i was hoping to stick mine where the stereo lives. (back to the original vec stereo.. had to sell my pioneer due to a temporary cashflow problem!)

  6. #6
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry View Post
    can't remember the username but there is someone on here that has a carputer in his vec, i'm sure he'll be a great source of information.

    someone will be along who can remember his name.

    welcome back BTW
    Quote Originally Posted by jonr View Post
    csnet is his user. called terran i think
    **cough**

    Well... if its any help I'll tell you what I'm doing with mine and we can go from there ?

    In short I'm using a WRX Double din surround for the TMR screen. There may be a need for some on the hoof modding here but at the end of the day I'll use a double din plastic insert. The light sensor for the screen & the IR will be drilled in to one of the blank inserts.

    The OEM stereo wont last 5 mins with me so I'll be installing a new Kenwood head... because I'm making a CarPC and NEVER have used it I'm getting a bog standard but high out out pu with aux unit ( around £100 ) like the one I have now.

    This will be connected to the controls adaptor for the steering for volume etc. I'm awaiting a couple of developments from compaines that may mean I can ditch the head altogether but still have the controls / amp.

    Lastly the head will probably go in to the glove box I have done on v4 ( GSI B ) because its not some thing I need access to.... again this will be an on the hoof mod as I dont get the car for a short while ( not that I am not looking now )

    Loads of links on my own site & digital-car.co.uk is the UK forum.

    Does that help ?

    Terran

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  8. #8
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If we are going to talk CarPC companies in the UK then http://www.karputer.co.uk/ are worth a mention.... I've been beta-ing their software and other stuff.

    There are ofcourse lots of other outlets and ofcourse I personally dont think its a biggy to do it your self any way.

    Terran

  9. #9
    Regular Member Merick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan & Preston
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi Terran,

    Thanks for the info.. I won't be due to start the project for a while yet, but i was hoping to get all of the planning done before i started so i knew exactly how much it would cost. I'm a little tight when it comes to spending money so i need to keep the cost down.

    My idea's so far are as follows (here's where i need your help!!)
    Screen:
    7" Lilliput 619GL-70NP/C

    Fitting:
    I was going to go for the cheap option and use an old single din facia and cut out the shape i need for the screen and use some ABS plastic pellets melted with acetone to remould the front and paint to give the OEM look.

    PC:
    Intel D201GLY2 (http://www.itx-warehouse.co.uk/Produ...?ProductID=756)
    Laptop HDD (supposedly take more of a beating than a 3.5" HDD)
    USB GPS Receiver
    USB WIFI Dongle
    FM Tuner

    POWER:
    M1-ATX so i can keep the computer in standby for a quicker boot time. I beleive it montiors the voltage from the battery and shuts off the PC if the battery power drops below a certain level?

    And as for getting sound from the PC to the car's speakers without a head unit... i'm not sure yet.
    Last edited by Merick; 23rd January 2008 at 23:31. Reason: forgot to mention power!

  10. #10
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Merick,

    Screen - That WRX din kit I mention is designed for that one if I remember.... ( I'm adapting it )
    Board - Spot on... you can stick your onw image on the bios too with that - eg a Vx Logo
    USB GPS - Loads about
    Wifi - Mmmm depends what you need it for - At home I use a portable drive and on the road GPRS ( soon to be HDSPA ). ( Tracking, Traffic & more )
    Power - M1 will do the job but the M2 is about a tenner diffrence and a bit more power.... although an M3 has just come out.

    Sound - theres loads of other options inc a direct amp connection....

    Terran

    PS I'm just up the road from you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. "Winter" Wheels ? Are 19" Snowies best for the "Summer" ?
    By Woody in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 5th October 2012, 18:43
  2. worried!!!! have you ever used "corsa centre" or "supernovas"
    By vectra_c_wannabe in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 20th May 2009, 15:21
  3. "Goodbye" blue sky "Hello" grey !
    By FIL 4822 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 15:43
  4. end of year bash 2008 "" will there be one ""
    By chrisgettings in forum General Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 10:26
  5. Stereo "extras"
    By ianjofriel in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th January 2008, 19:40

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •