User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: LapTop Data Cards...

  1. #1
    Regular Member BigMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pretending to be unmarked Police in my T5...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default LapTop Data Cards...

    I am starting a new job soon which means i wil be abroad a fair bit and want to be able to keep up with my favourite Forum more than once a week at weekends..

    I have seen all sorts of deals on Data Cards but only for use in the UK, Does anyone know of any deals for using them abroad that isnt gonna cost me telephone numbers each month to repay??

    Some people have said 3 do a European one, but i cant find anything about it..

  2. #2
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm not sure if T-Mobile do any special deals for Europe data packages - usually for a UK based SIM you're charged an overhead in Europe though.

    Are you able to get a Europe based card through your employer?

  3. #3
    Regular Member BigMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pretending to be unmarked Police in my T5...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JuzzyD View Post
    I'm not sure if T-Mobile do any special deals for Europe data packages - usually for a UK based SIM you're charged an overhead in Europe though.

    Are you able to get a Europe based card through your employer?
    I hadnt thought of that, That isnt a bad idea...

  4. #4
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It would be worth considering, but pop into a T-Mobile shop and see what they say. I've just looked on their site and they only talk about call costs abroad, I can't find anything specific about data costs abroad.

    It will be interesting to see what the card deals are in europe compared to the UK...

  5. #5
    Regular Member dave45040's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    llandudno
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    How many different countries will you be working in?

    If just 1 country you could go into a mobile shop there and get them to hook you up.

    Even if you are working in 2 or 3 different countries, getting 2 or 3 different cards (one from each country and using the relevant one when in that country) could work out well cheaper than using a UK one abroad.

  6. #6
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've just bought a vodafone 3G card off e-bay with £5.50 of credit for £16, as I might be working away from home in the near future too. A mate at work suggested using T-mobile PAYG data sim off e-bay for £5 as it only costs £1 a day to use. Have no idea about abroad though

  7. #7
    Regular Member jonesy_ni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Co Antrim
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think 3 let you roam in your allowance, as long as you are in 3 network, then you are fine,

    If i am in south ireland, which is out of 3 UK, and becomes 3 IRL, its in my allowance, check out a 3 shop, the only network i know that covers roaming within their network

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Selling a broken laptop, will removing HD protect my data?
    By paul_sri150 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 1st March 2011, 22:57
  2. If anyone wants any data etc speak now!!
    By DaveW555 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th June 2010, 17:38
  3. PS3 Data?
    By Mark2.2 in forum Games Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 19:30
  4. car data help
    By Vectralicker in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th November 2008, 12:39
  5. BN NOKIA N95 DATA / ps3 charger cable, 6230i data.
    By Silver V in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th October 2008, 01:06

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •