User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Add Trip Computer to CDC30

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Selby, North Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Add Trip Computer to CDC30

    Hi All. I'm new to the site and I've just bought a Vectra 1.9 CDTi Life (120ps), 55 Plate with Full CanBus (Scroll on steering wheel). Picked it up on Friday and I'm very happy with it.

    However, I would like to have the trip/Board computer facilities. I've read through several posts on the site which imply that this is easy to acheive if you have the CDC40 or CDC70.

    If I want the BC, can I just change my 2 line display for the Multifunction Display and then get my Vauxhall Dealer to enable the BC using the Tech2?

    Do I need anything else to make this work?

    Thanks in advance.

    Andrew

  2. #2
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If only things were that simple.

    To be honest I think your stuffed, It will probably take more than a display change and a Tech2.

    Sorry !

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Selby, North Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is there any reason for that? I have the BC button on my CD30. I would have thought all the electrics/Loom would be in place. Does any one know where I can find the wiring diagrams for the Vectra C? Is there a Haynes manual available yet?

    Cheers

    Andrew

  4. #4
    Regular Member NealM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Pre-Facelift

    Trim : LS

    Engine : 1.8 Petrol

    Year : 2003

    Default

    See HERE

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Selby, North Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    NealM, Thanks for the link. I've already seen that one though. Mines the facelift model. Built December 2005.

    Anyone else got any input on the Trip Computer possibilities?

    Cheers

    Andrew

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would be interested to understand why this would be so difficult.

    I'll be be picking up a 08 Exclusiv that has a CD30 radio, having a look at the Vectra catalogue the SRI also has the CD30 (and the same remote display as far as the catalogue goes) and it has a trip computer.

    Therefore I am struggling to understand what has been changed between the two carsapart from a couple of keyboard strokes at programming time

    Or am i missing something here?

    I may just ring Inchcape in Newbury and ask them to give it a whirl and see what they can enable

    Cheers

    Paul

  7. #7
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulw563 View Post
    I would be interested to understand why this would be so difficult.

    I'll be be picking up a 08 Exclusiv that has a CD30 radio, having a look at the Vectra catalogue the SRI also has the CD30 (and the same remote display as far as the catalogue goes) and it has a trip computer.

    Therefore I am struggling to understand what has been changed between the two carsapart from a couple of keyboard strokes at programming time

    Or am i missing something here?

    I may just ring Inchcape in Newbury and ask them to give it a whirl and see what they can enable

    Cheers

    Paul
    the procedure to add the trip computer is exactly the same for a CD30, a CDC40 or a CD70, but it takes at least a Board Info Display (BID), or a Graphic Info Display (GID) and not the small Triple Info Display (TID) with the two buttons.
    If you have the right display, you only need a Vx-dealer who is able and willing to reprogram via Tech2 in 'Infotainment': enable BC, insert the new CodeIndex, disable checkcontrol (because some sensors are not present); (this part was easy until Opel/Vx decided some time ago to change their software, but it is still possible)
    if you have only the TID: it will be expensive because dealer has to change that one to

    BID is standard with BC; GID is standard with CDC40 or with ECC or with UHP (phone) or some CD70; but most CD70 will come with the CID

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi sig 63 thanks for the message.

    What is the part number for a BID or GID?? and does anyone have an idea how much they cost new from a dealer??

    I have just seen another post on retrofitting the CD70 and hadn't realised how simple it is, now kicking myself for not having bought one on ebay yesterday with colour screen!

    Cheers

    Paul

  9. #9
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    buying CD70's and displays on eBay is a bit tricky, because you are never sure if they have been unpaired or if they match
    the displays are rather expensive and you need your dealer to install them

  10. #10
    Regular Member Sawyer Reynolds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've got a 56 plate 1.9CDTi (120) Exclusiv with CD30. My headunit has BC but when I press it it says 'No function' ... Is the button just for show?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Trip computer
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th April 2012, 15:18
  2. trip computer
    By jingo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16th February 2012, 21:51
  3. Trip computer
    By dajafu2002 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16th October 2010, 17:49
  4. sat nav but not trip computer?
    By Turbomanrony in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th September 2010, 01:29
  5. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33

Visitors found this page by searching for:

how to enable trip computer zafira 2005

add sat nav to vectra

trip counter bid vectra c

installing trip computer into vectra c

can you activate trip computer vectra c

vuaxhall zafira 2009 1.9 do you have to activate the in board computer to make it work

vectra c trip computer not working

activate trip computer Vectra C

vauxhall vectra exclusiv 2008 on board computer

does my vectra c exclusiv have a trip computer

how do i get my trip computer up on my 2008 vectra c

is it possible to enable the board computer on a cd30

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •