User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Replacing CDR2005 with CD70

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway, Fredrikstad
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Replacing CDR2005 with CD70

    I've done a bit of reading on the forums now, and from what I understand, the problem with this switch is that the controlbuttons on the steeringwheel won't work.. Is that it or is there some other issue?

    I don't like those stupid buttons anyway, so if that's the only problem, well it isn't a problem at all.. =)

  2. #2
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemric View Post
    I've done a bit of reading on the forums now, and from what I understand, the problem with this switch is that the controlbuttons on the steeringwheel won't work.. Is that it or is there some other issue?

    I don't like those stupid buttons anyway, so if that's the only problem, well it isn't a problem at all.. =)

    If you search on here there is a thread for this and it saya that if you have a car pre 54 - i think then it is not compatible with any stero system after that.

    Something to do with CANBUS - What ever that does - possible the car's personality mines is stubborn.

    Gotta ask is you stereo c**p? Skips CD's? Mines does but when I found out the information above - well i've gotta live with it.

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway, Fredrikstad
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Since I live in Norway, I really don't know what a 54-plate is.. =) My car is a 2004 model tho, and therfore have the "half canbus" But as I understand all that the canbus does is translate the signals from the steeringwheel?

    I've done lots of reading and searching on here, great spot for info.. =)

    So if the canbus is the problem I hope that it would be possible to make the switch and just do without the buttons.. (That I don't use anyway)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway, Fredrikstad
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just bought the car about one month ago, but so far the cdr2005 works just fine.. Plays cd's with no problems.. =) But i would like to have the satnav system..

  5. #5
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemric View Post
    Since I live in Norway, I really don't know what a 54-plate is.. =) My car is a 2004 model tho, and therfore have the "half canbus" But as I understand all that the canbus does is translate the signals from the steeringwheel?

    I've done lots of reading and searching on here, great spot for info.. =)

    So if the canbus is the problem I hope that it would be possible to make the switch and just do without the buttons.. (That I don't use anyway)
    I don't know too much about the system myself but if all it does is translate button signals then there should be no issues.

    My car is a latev 2004 and is affected by this canbus problem too.

    No doubt someone will pop along with the answer.


    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  6. #6
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemric View Post
    Just bought the car about one month ago, but so far the cdr2005 works just fine.. Plays cd's with no problems.. =) But i would like to have the satnav system..

    Again may be difficult with sat nav, according to threads on here if it is not factory fitted you are outta luck.

    Hope i'm wrong tho!!

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  7. #7
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i belive their is more involved as you will need the wiring loom behind the dash which is complete for the whole car

  8. #8
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep, the CD70 will be looking for speed and steering inputs over canbus, as well as ignition status and lighting status.

    Replacing your small orange screen with a standalone satnav unit will be cheaper and easier.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway, Fredrikstad
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well, that's stupid.. =p Why do they have to make it so complicated!? Well, I'll go for a aftermarket 2din unit instead then.. Don't know what to do with that ugly orange screen tough.. Have to fins some creative use for the space.. =)

  10. #10
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemric View Post
    Well, that's stupid.. =p Why do they have to make it so complicated!? Well, I'll go for a aftermarket 2din unit instead then.. Don't know what to do with that ugly orange screen tough.. Have to fins some creative use for the space.. =)

    someone on the site had put a touch screen sat nav in one of the air vents and it looked very flash indeed

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing CD70 Navi
    By Astra_Alex in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th October 2012, 23:28
  2. Aux in cdr2005
    By Ken072 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st July 2011, 15:00
  3. CDR2005 to CD70 Nav
    By tomtaylor15 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th May 2010, 00:01
  4. Replacing CDR2005 on '04 Vectra w/single DIN radio-what do I need?
    By mikethemechanic in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th November 2009, 17:30
  5. Cdr2005
    By glenboy in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd August 2009, 20:11

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •