User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: wiring up front fogs

  1. #1
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default wiring up front fogs

    i know there is a how 2 on wiring up oe front fogs but i want to use the button on the headlight switch is this possible.
    many thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Regular Member D-S-Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Home init
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glynn View Post
    i know there is a how 2 on wiring up oe front fogs but i want to use the button on the headlight switch is this possible.
    many thanks for your help

    Err no, not on an LS Vectra. ECU will not support it. You'll have to go for the retro fit. Did mine using the "how 2".

    If someone can prove me wrong please do so. Using the vx light unit would finish this mod off.

    Hope this helps Pugster

  3. #3
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks pugster this is your old unit that i won of you on ebay.
    just didn't wont another button just sitting there so why not just wire it to the origanl switch wires

  4. #4
    Regular Member D-S-Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Home init
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glynn View Post
    thanks pugster this is your old unit that i won of you on ebay.
    just didn't wont another button just sitting there so why not just wire it to the origanl switch wires

    Lost money on that unit cost me £70+. After all my searching on LS front fogs no one came back with your idea of fitting the wires to the origanl switch. Grounds for a good question to the forum.

    Come on guys can retro fitted front fog wires be used with vx front fog light unit.

    If this pulls off I'll have to get another light unit.

    Also could admin move this thread to car chat please.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i have kept my full fog switch that i boughht on ebay they will be hard to get hold of and expensive if someone wires up using the vx unit

  6. #6
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    going to wire up the front fogs tommorrow or monday.
    does any one know if i will need to get a live feed from the head lights to the front fog button

    any help will be most appreciated

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    Of course you can use the genuine multi function light switch assembly. IF you are prepared to do some extra work.

    As the button is a 'push to make' and not 'switch on / switch off' you would need to do some work on the internals of the switch and also make a latchable relay system, so one switch pulse turns the system on, then same switch pulse turns them off.

    Not difficult, just a bit time consuming and tedious I would have thought.

    Question is, is it worth this extra effort????

  8. #8
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ste View Post
    Of course you can use the genuine multi function light switch assembly. IF you are prepared to do some extra work.

    As the button is a 'push to make' and not 'switch on / switch off' you would need to do some work on the internals of the switch and also make a latchable relay system, so one switch pulse turns the system on, then same switch pulse turns them off.

    Not difficult, just a bit time consuming and tedious I would have thought.

    Question is, is it worth this extra effort????
    i think it would be worth it as i dont wont the extra buttons in the car.
    so i thought it might be possible to use the original button on the headlight switch. does that mean im will need a relay aswell? as im not to clever on electrics

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glynn..

    the headlight 'switch' is a canbus node. Not like the lightswitches of old.. it runs on pulses not continual feeds, hence the lock and latch relays...

    Armoured Farmers HOW-2 keeps the implanted foglights away from the cars lighting controller, which if you don't may well lead to umpteen error messages ..

    Best really to either follow Ste's suggested route or AF's..

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ashford Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hello,

    Did you ever find a way to fit the Fogs via the true Vectra interface switch as I am trying to do this myself now, The lights are installed, the switch connected, the surrounds are on then I hit a problem.....

    I couldn't find the wire loom..... I know I should have checked first but got carried away with the install.....!

    Kind Regards,

    Matt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wiring fogs today
    By mrk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th December 2012, 16:58
  2. Exclusive model , Front fogs wiring?
    By Adam8220 in forum Styling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th April 2011, 09:01
  3. Front Fogs
    By favill1982 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th November 2009, 11:51
  4. Front Fogs
    By parapaul in forum Styling
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th July 2006, 22:16
  5. Any one for front Fogs?
    By Maverick in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th April 2006, 18:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •