User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Freeview

  1. #1
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default Freeview

    I have a telly with freeview incorporated in it, I tried to record a DVD from one of the freview channels and it would ont work, one of my mates at work said you can not record freeview, is that correct or an I doing something wrong with the set up??

  2. #2
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    How is your DVD recorder connected to the TV?

    The recorder needs to either be recording a Freeview OUTPUT from the telly (say via SCART) or the DVD recorder itself needs to have freeview built in to it.

    Freeview can be recorded, as long as the recording device can see the signal to record. I use a hard-drive recorder to "tape" my programs!
    Last edited by LJ sxi-nav; 11th December 2007 at 11:29.

  3. #3
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    hdcmi lead.

  4. #4
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've not dabbled in HD yet, next on my wish list, so I'm not sure how the connections would work.

    however, it may be that the current set-up is just sending the signal from DVD to TV, SO you would need to get the signal to travel the opposite direction so the recorder can see a freeview signal to record.

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    Cheers, We at work did wonder if the signal was going in the wrong dirrection so to speak.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Brocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Does you DVD recorder have a freeview tuner?

    Just thinking about analogue, your old video tape and even DVD recorders have their own tuner built in. When you record the video records a channel, and on the telly you watch another channel using the TVs own tuner.

    So for Freeview on the Tele and media recorder, won't you need a tuner in each?
    Last edited by Brocks; 11th December 2007 at 12:09. Reason: additional data

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    I tune the tv and it tunes to all the channels freeview and "land", but when I try to "TUNE" the DVD it seems to only tune into the "land" channels and not the freeview as well. so in this respect I can understand why it will not record them, even if I am watching the "freeview" channel and press the "one tuch record" button it will not recoed the channel but one of the "land" channels instead.

  8. #8
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Right, your DVD recorder is analogue, and will record analogue programs directly (OTR) (recording whatever analogue channel you have on the DVD Rec)

    It is possible to record the Freeview on the Telly, but only if the TV has an OUTPUT and the dvd recorder has an equivlent INPUT. Sometimes you can switch SCART* sockets on devices via a menu from INPUT to OUTPUT. If you can, connect a TV OUTPUT to a DVD rec INPUT, and set the recorder to record the INPUT (AV channel?) you have used. Of course you would need to be watching/have tuned the TV to the channel you want to record. In this instance the TV becomes an expensive Freeview box!
    (*if possible you may be able to do this with HDMI as well)

    An alternative is to get a £20 freeview box and connect it directly to the DVD recorder using an external input, and using the Ariel RF lead and loop through to the the DVD Rec then the TV, the advantage here is you can record one channel and watch another. The DVD rec can still record anaolgue via the RF loop through, and freeview via the dvd rec external input.


    EDIT: Anyone with anaolgue recording devices may get caught out by this with digital switchover. Even with a digital Freeview TV, your recording devices need their own digital receivers (either built in or an external signal/set-top box), to be able to continue recording content.
    Last edited by LJ sxi-nav; 11th December 2007 at 12:35. Reason: Addition

  9. #9
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Hi Ed, We have BT Vision which is a Hi Def Freeview receiver with Broadband tv as well and we can record, pause, rewind and record DVD's thru freeview, it works in the same way as our SKY+ HD box, Freeview is just a digital tv signal, only the paid for channels will be encrypted, but even those you will be able to record once you have paid for the service...

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    I am off to see which "sockets" the hdmi lead is plugged into.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Freeview Box
    By Knight Rider in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd December 2012, 20:59
  2. Can you Recommend A Freeview Box
    By bigboynigs in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th May 2012, 08:32
  3. Freeview on this?
    By jonesy_ni in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd June 2008, 21:53
  4. Freeview Help
    By heaton_uk in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st January 2008, 00:23
  5. In car freeview.
    By Caterman in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th September 2006, 21:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c 08 can i connect my freeview box to my in car sat nav

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •