User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: which bulb? arrrghhh

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    west yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default which bulb? arrrghhh

    Hi

    Got a vectra dti 2003 model.

    The light bulb warning light has come up on the dash. I just been to shop and checked all lights and all ok.

    but the thing is that last week the light came on the dash and then after a few mins driving it was ok.

    but now the light bulb is constant

    any ideas in regards to wiring? or what else i can check? checked all external. but thought it mgiht be connection related as it was on and off last week

    cheers

    tj

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it could be the bulb thats us

    if it the rear light all the bulbs are 21 watts side lights are 21 watts to

    the ecu for the light puts a voltage into the 21 watt bulb to make it look like its a 5 watt bulb

    the good point to this is ,,,, that if your side light goes the brake light can take over and do the same job
    and it also the same if your brake light goes the side light will take over the brake lights job


    if you take the bulb cluster out to get a good look at what gone

  3. #3
    Regular Member simac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Doesn't it tell you which bulb has gone on the centre display ? One of my side/parking lights went at the weekend and the screen told me to "check front left parking light" - it even drew a little picture of the car to show me LOL how nice

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    west yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    no i think only if u got a trip computer i got sxi which sont have them.

    but when driving home last night it was off all the way and this morning it was fine. went out at lunch and it came on but when i got off the motorway it went off. coming back at lunch it came on again!

    so what chrisgettings said is that what i can do?

  5. #5
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tjsingh View Post
    no i think only if u got a trip computer i got sxi which sont have them.

    but when driving home last night it was off all the way and this morning it was fine. went out at lunch and it came on but when i got off the motorway it went off. coming back at lunch it came on again!

    so what chrisgettings said is that what i can do?
    Well I guess that if you want to know which bulb is causing the fault and the screen does not help... you`ll have to plug the car to a Tech2 and sort which one is it
    Sounds to me its more like a poor contantact in one of the bulbs housings BTW

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Isnt' this system based on resistancy so it'll be warning you as the resistance has changed and the bulb will no doubt go sometime soon.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Marty J CDTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeovil
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueRob View Post
    Well I guess that if you want to know which bulb is causing the fault and the screen does not help... you`ll have to plug the car to a Tech2 and sort which one is it
    Sounds to me its more like a poor contact in one of the bulbs housings BTW
    I agree sounds like a loose connection, which would give high resistance hence the bulb failure. Might wanna just go around and push all bulbs in firmly to make sure.

  8. #8
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I had a bulb failure come on after I took my bumper off and it said front side light, after checking all the bulbs I just pushed every connection back in and made sure all the cables were made with the sockets.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    west yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers guy will do that and let u know result

  10. #10
    Regular Member simac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tjsingh View Post
    no i think only if u got a trip computer i got sxi which sont have them.
    Ahh right, sorry I thought it was a standard thing across the range

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Bulb kit
    By iain.condliffe in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st March 2011, 08:31
  2. Bulb Gone?
    By PeterVV in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st March 2010, 22:24
  3. Can I Replace Fog light Bulb for a 100 watt Bulb
    By m300raj in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17th January 2010, 19:33
  4. New Bulb Help
    By Pie Sharp in forum Styling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th March 2009, 10:24
  5. Bulb Fit
    By T4M in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th January 2008, 01:10

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •