User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Caterman box and estate

  1. #1
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Caterman box and estate

    Now that a fair few people have bought the Caterman Box.
    I am interested in finding out how many people have it working on the ESTATE and wether you specified the DPF version??

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member vectrahunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    crosshouse
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ive Had Mine Fitted To My Estate Since March No Problems At All
    Yes I Told Them I Had A Dpf

  3. #3
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    No Box for me im afraid, ive read too many times that DPF Estates and Tuning boxes dont go, so following on from that advice from fellow members on here i bought a BSR PPC and remapped mine at the weekend.. Works fine with DPF fitted vehicles as its been designed too.
    I cant see how increasing fuel rail pressures as a tuning box does can be OK to work with DPF's..?

  4. #4
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine's been on for about 9k miles no problems. Signum with DPF.

  5. #5
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Sods law isn't it, Theres You and Andyvec who both have Boxes on signums with no problems.. Ive got my BSR map now which is well nice
    I was originally thinking of buying a CRD2 from dtuk, but read that although they say its ok for dpf'd motors some people have had problems so decided on the remap..

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I would assume that the DPF versions of the "caterman" boxes don't increase the fuelling quite so much.

    If you have a CRD or CRD2 and a car with DPF then run it on a low map or adjust the voltage down a little.

    Unfortunately as cars get more "environmentally friendly" it will also make them more difficult to tune.Some cars (Honda diesels) even now are very difficult to get more power out of because the emission detection is very strict.

  7. #7
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could have saved yourself a few bob Pete. Never mind mate.

  8. #8
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diesel dog View Post
    I would assume that the DPF versions of the "caterman" boxes don't increase the fuelling quite so much.

    If you have a CRD or CRD2 and a car with DPF then run it on a low map or adjust the voltage down a little.

    Unfortunately as cars get more "environmentally friendly" it will also make them more difficult to tune.Some cars (Honda diesels) even now are very difficult to get more power out of because the emission detection is very strict.
    I dont think the caterman box is quite that clever that it knows there is a DPF. It give's enough fuel to propel my signum into a good rate of speed. I'm more than happy with it.

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shan View Post
    I dont think the caterman box is quite that clever that it knows there is a DPF. It give's enough fuel to propel my signum into a good rate of speed. I'm more than happy with it.

    I would assume the reason for asking whether or not you have DPF is so that they can send out a box that doesn't increase the voltage quite so much.So,no,it's not the box that's clever it's the chap that sends it out.

  10. #10
    Regular Member shan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diesel dog View Post
    I would assume the reason for asking whether or not you have DPF is so that they can send out a box that doesn't increase the voltage quite so much.So,no,it's not the box that's clever it's the chap that sends it out.
    They never asked me about the DPF. All they need is the engine size 120 or 150. Nothing else. No is it a vectra astra whatever. I think the chap sending them out is clever yes he's makeing a fortune.
    I think the reason for asking about the DPF in the first post is that a few people have had issue's with them But i think it's the 3.0 chaps who have had the issue's. I've not heard of any 1.9 issue's.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vectra Estate Voted Top Used Estate in What Car 2010
    By keefy*2010 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd October 2010, 15:54
  2. SWAP Estate VXR for Estate 1.9. CDTI 150?
    By In a states in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 31st January 2008, 21:20
  3. Caterman box.
    By FIL 4822 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2007, 16:31
  4. Caterman Special/Caterman box...
    By MyLittleEgg in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 18:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •