User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Magic Temperature Gauge

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Magic Temperature Gauge



    Looking for some advice here, the temp gauge started going up and down when it feels like it. 52 plate 1.8Sxi

    Today for instance I drive to work 10 miles and the needle hardly moved at all, outside temp was about 6 degrees, when I slowed through traffic in town it began to rise to 85 degrees and stayed there for the next few miles. Then dropped again to under 80 and continued to be erratic all day. Checked the hoses hot at both ends and fluid moving freely, no probs also coolant level ok.??? Engine does not appear to be over heating….whats going on? Sensor/ thermostat? If so where do I find them…. any advice would be greatful as local stealers are not very impresive from previous experiance

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if it only heats when stationary or in traffic then i'd say thermostat..if the sender was to fail it would either fail 'open curcuit' and not read.. highly unlikely to give eronious readings..

    a quick check for you to do at home, taking care as the pipes will get hot..

    from cold, start the car and run the engine..feel the temperature of the top hose..it should be cool..rising slightly as the engine temperature increases. Then when ( if ) the thermostat opens you should get a sudden major temperature difference in the pipe... if this doesn't occur then the stat is at fault..

    The temp sender will give live data to see what readings it's outputting, but you won't get fault codes or the like off of the thermostat..so a dealer would do little more than the above..

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks I wll give it a bash in the morning. If it is the thermo is it an easy home replacement? i havent done anything under the bonnet for a good few years.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    not too dificult if you're careful with the bolts....need torx sockets to get the bolts off..the thermostat is inside the box casting that the top hose runs into,

  5. #5
    Regular Member D-S-Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Home init
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Today I've got the same problem. Did changing the stat work?

    Tanks in advance.

    Pugster

  6. #6
    Regular Member Oscar Ding Ding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oldham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pugster View Post
    Today I've got the same problem. Did changing the stat work?

    Tanks in advance.

    Pugster
    I've got the same problem it's been to the dealer 3 times, it's in today to have the thermostat and housing changed I think it's all one unit. I'll let you know later if it works.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Oscar Ding Ding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oldham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thermostat and housing changed problem solved

  8. #8
    Regular Member kev bux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BOROUGHPETER
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi,

    my temp gauge is like a ****** yo yo, last couple of days its been like this.
    is the thermostat and housing in all one piece to buy or seperate? and how much? is it simple to do?

    cabin still gets warm though so could it be the sensor, if so were is the sensor?

    thanks. kev.
    Last edited by kev bux; 25th November 2007 at 20:16.

  9. #9
    Regular Member kev bux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BOROUGHPETER
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


  10. #10
    Regular Member Oscar Ding Ding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oldham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As far I know Kev it's all one unit. Mine was repaired under warrenty so don't know what the cost would be, it was only in tyhe workshop for about and hour so the labour charge wouldn't be that much. When I took it for a test drive with the technition he said it would be hard to tell exactly what was wrong could be the stat, a sensor or the housing and that they would just change the whole unit.I've had a look at what they have have replaced and it doesn't look that much of a job. HTH

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Temperature gauge
    By any-mgzt in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 8th December 2012, 23:33
  2. temperature gauge 0
    By neill in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th January 2012, 19:18
  3. temperature gauge
    By kewley in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th July 2011, 16:06
  4. Temperature Gauge Help
    By Oscar Ding Ding in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th November 2007, 21:51
  5. Temperature Gauge
    By domino in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd July 2007, 10:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •