User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Internet without Landline? Help...

  1. #1
    Regular Member R-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Internet without Landline? Help...

    Guys - does anyone know what the options are for having the internet without a landline phone?

    Basically I am looking at taking in a lodger, but they require the internet. I don't bother with a landline phone because I am never at home and have a mobile!

    So I dont ideally want to give BT £130 odd quid installation plus £10 a month for a line that will never be used.

    Any advice greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think all BB services require a landline, given that's how it comes into the house. Other options are satellite BB (bl**dy expensive and slow upload speed), then the other option would be 3G datacard in a laptop. I'm assuming things like Sky BB the BB still comes through the phone line you need, as opposed to down through the dish?

    Not sure on any other options off the top of my head.

  3. #3
    Regular Member R-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks D. I have sky, so i wonder as you say could they give me broadband without a line. I think the answer will be no..

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So with Sky don't you have to have a landline? I thought you needed to have one to get the Sky service connected?

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Can't you get it through a mobile phone? not sure as to the cost, but I'm sure one of the providers will deal.

  6. #6
    Regular Member R-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have heard that lots before too, but I dont have a landline and have had sky since I have been in the place - 18 months or so.

    BTW just seen as an Orange customer I can have BB for £5 which is fine, but BT Installation of £125 and wasted line rental of £10.50 a month is what I want to avoid!

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    So with Sky don't you have to have a landline? I thought you needed to have one to get the Sky service connected?
    every sky box must be connected to a landline phone...so thats both of ours now plugged in to the phones..

  8. #8
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    every sky box must be connected to a landline phone...so thats both of ours now plugged in to the phones..
    I'm sure this is only a requirement for the first 12 months.. doesn't help the OP though..

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    nope.. we've been on now for 2 1/2 yrs... Mr Murdoch will have a loophole somewhere..

  10. #10
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Rob,

    if they want internet, then i'd say to them that they have to pay for it, or pay extra as part of the deal.. i don't see why you should have to stump out and take on something you don't want/need just to satisfy the incoming party??..

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. No Internet
    By Tam80 in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th February 2011, 12:24
  2. Internet at last
    By Happy Girl in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 23:15
  3. How do I block a specific number from my landline
    By chewy71 in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th November 2010, 20:17
  4. What still no internet!!!
    By Happy Girl in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th November 2010, 21:46
  5. internet help...
    By Dwabo in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th April 2009, 11:25

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •