User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Traction control switch

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    addlestone ,surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Traction control switch

    Dudes

    A few weeks ago I read a thread about fitting a traction control switch in a Signum.All I can rember is that if you find a blue plug thingie behind the blank you are green for go. Any chance of a reminder? and whats all this about tect2? My other car is a 35 year old landrover with 18 moving parts,none of which are electrical....so a simple explanation would be appreciated!


    Cheers
    Wes

  2. #2
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Basically, if you've got a blue plug behind the blanking plate there is a chance
    the switch will work. There is no set pattern as to which engine sizes or models
    the switch works on, its just the luck of the draw.

    If the blue plug is there then the switch will still light up with the rest of the controls
    so it will fill a blank anyway.
    The easiest way is just buy the switch (£11 - £12) and give it a go.

    HTH.

  3. #3
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    For the TC switch there is no more to cover than what Pricey said....good luck and hope it works for you....
    Not and expert on TECH2 but think I can describe it as the language for the ECU`s...please correct me if I`m wrong

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tech2 is the vauxhall scan gtool for programming your car.. it also reads fault codes, resets airbag lights etc etc..but at £4.5K it's a bit dear for home use....

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    addlestone ,surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Dudes

    Cheers for the help,one more question will I need to get the traction control activated (assuming it works) or will it work straight off the bat?

    Cheers

    Wes

  6. #6
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Once the switch is in, it will either work or not work. No need for tech2, it really
    is that simple.

  7. #7
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just seen your car is an '05', is it a facelift or a pre-facelift?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    addlestone ,surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Dudes

    My car is a 2005 facelift reg no ##55###

    wes
    Last edited by Gsi3.2; 6th October 2007 at 18:28. Reason: don't post your numberplate..:-)

  9. #9
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Grand Sport

    Trim : DESIGN

    Engine : 1.5T (165)

    Year : 2018

    Mileage : 220

    Default

    Sorry to tell you that unless your car has ESP (which is only fitted as standard to V6-engined cars) you won't have traction control as it only comes with ESP on the facelift Vectra. So a TC switch would do nothing, I afraid.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    apart from light up..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. traction control switch
    By neilshaw1980 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 4th July 2009, 09:45
  2. traction control switch
    By Beavis in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13th April 2008, 08:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •