User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Radio to SatNav Upgrade

  1. #1
    Regular Member Ridgerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Radio to SatNav Upgrade

    Team

    Is this all you need (plus an aerial) to get SatNav in a non-SatNav car?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA:IT&ih=007

    If not, could someone list out the things you have to do...and yes, I know that most people right if off an un-economic but I like to know what is involved.

    What is the Tech (reprogramming?) thingy that people mention in this regards?

    I have a 54 GSi.

  2. #2
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This is something i've looked into and most threads have said its too costly (sensors and the like) or not worth it...

    Not bad price for all that though....

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ridgerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Exactly...and I just want to understand what else has to be done.

    Some people spend money on new wheels, others spend it on SatNav upgrades...

  4. #4
    Regular Member Neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The pool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    for my money I would probably buy TomTom - less hastle, cheaper in the long run and when you change your car, you take it with you!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member ironass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD70 navi unit

    The main thing mate is that the unit itself HAS to be tech 2'd from the original car, if this isn't done before the car is broken up you can never get it working in any other car, even vauxhall can't apparently.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Ridgerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Logic doesn't come into it. When I mate with a car, it's for life!

    I wanted to know what was required over and above the ebay hardware.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Why is it that so many ebay sellers have appalling spelling and grammar?

    eg:-

    THERES TO ITEMS WHICH YOU HAVE TO BUY,
    BRAKING ALL VAXUHALL'S,
    IT BY ANY REASON THIS ITEAM DONT WORK,
    AND ILL REFUND YOU MONEY BACK,

  8. #8
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Also, the cd70 is a full canbus unit so it would need to go into a full
    canbus car. (late 04 on)

  9. #9
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    I have done this....but mine was the monochrome screen...I assume all the kit came from the same car....if so all you need is the nads to put it in and then get an aerial from ebay...see this thread from a while ago...
    http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread...highlight=CD70

    Hope this helps...

  10. #10
    Regular Member Ridgerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys

    I have started looking through old threads (should have done it first perhaps...) so am starting to pick up on the key points.

    Is the CD70 unit the same as the Siemens 2015?

    Can anything be "re-tech 2'd" to work in any other vehicle, or are items locked out for good?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SATNAV CD upgrade
    By lgtuk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5th June 2010, 15:39
  2. SatNav upgrade
    By TopRod in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th February 2010, 21:59
  3. Satnav upgrade
    By jamesworts in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 22nd February 2009, 20:05
  4. satnav upgrade.
    By steve25v6 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th February 2007, 18:22
  5. Upgrade to SatNav?
    By VectraMat in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th January 2006, 09:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •