User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: CDTi's, remaps, caterman boxes etc

  1. #1
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CDTi's, remaps, caterman boxes etc

    Although it has probably been covered thousands of times, I am going to ask anyway to know for sure...

    If I was to get a 120 cdti vectra and add the caterman style box, it would bring it up to about what the 150 is, but if in future I wanted a lot more power, can the engine be mapped with the 150 software via tech2 or similar and then add the caterman, or remapped by a reputable company to give silly bhp and torque figures?

    Are the 120 and 150 engines the same but with different software?!

  2. #2
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They are two different engines m8, the 120 is an 8-valve and the 150 a 16-valve. The 120 can be remapped to 150Bhp or slightly more IIRC, but if you want anyhting around 200Bhp you'll be better getting the 150 model.

  3. #3
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah. I see. I thought it was just a software thing.

    ******.

    Struggling to get a 150 cdti through my channels and thought about that route.

    The search continues.

  4. #4
    Regular Member BigMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pretending to be unmarked Police in my T5...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Brocks has got a 120 CDTi producing 160 odd BHP and 300lb/ft torque.

    Pretty impressive figures from a 120!

  5. #5
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    i have a 120 and i am running a caterman box/K&N filter and airbox mod, just had a new twin exit exhaust fitted so will see what i an getting on the RR day on the 29th. hoping to be getting around the same as brock's if not more as a tuning box gives slightly more than a re-map supposedly
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  6. #6
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I beleive the Astra 120 engine is the same as the 150 but with a lowly map, unfortunately not the same in the Vec (as I regularly have a dig at the guy across the desk who ordered a car that looks identical to mine but with the 120 engine & then claims it's vitrually a VXR)

  7. #7
    Regular Member mark1319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cameraman View Post
    120 engine & then claims it's vitrually a VXR)
    Get him on here so we can have a laugh

  8. #8
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You could always go down the route Nutron took with his previous car, and have it remapped AND boxed....

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cameraman View Post
    I beleive the Astra 120 engine is the same as the 150 but with a lowly map, unfortunately not the same in the Vec (as I regularly have a dig at the guy across the desk who ordered a car that looks identical to mine but with the 120 engine & then claims it's vitrually a VXR)
    A few early astras had a 16v 120 engine but VX changed them to 8v the same as the vec . I think a few unscrupulous dealers (I know vx dealers ?? ) were mapping& selling them as 150`s !!

  10. #10
    Regular Member VectraV6CDTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wilts
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobW View Post
    Although it has probably been covered thousands of times, I am going to ask anyway to know for sure...

    If I was to get a 120 cdti vectra and add the caterman style box, it would bring it up to about what the 150 is, but if in future I wanted a lot more power, can the engine be mapped with the 150 software via tech2 or similar and then add the caterman, or remapped by a reputable company to give silly bhp and torque figures?

    Are the 120 and 150 engines the same but with different software?!
    If you havent bought a Vec yet, why not buy a 150 in the first place and get it remapped to around 185bhp?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Diesel Tuning - Boxes and Remaps Reviews - Your opinions please...
    By The Doc in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 3rd August 2012, 16:22
  2. Tuning Boxes and Remaps
    By urbanfox in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd March 2011, 10:47
  3. Caterman Boxes
    By Ralph wiggum in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 19:17
  4. 1.7CDTi and Caterman Boxes...
    By BigMan in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd December 2007, 02:12
  5. Caterman tuning boxes
    By 2.2 oil burner in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 15th October 2007, 00:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •