User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: sat nav screen

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    eng
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default sat nav screen

    i just bought a vectra 2003 model it has a screen that displays the radio i was wandering is it possible to replace this with the actual vauxhall sat nav system(inc the screen)?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Nope! Been asked far too many times m8 and due to cost it's a non starter

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    eng
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    is it not possible to find a cheap one online?

  4. #4
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Its not the actual price of the unit, its the compatibility to the car. It has to be programed to the ECU. Put it this way mate, I know of know one on this site that has done it, if it was easy we would all be doing it.

  5. #5
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Thats not quite true...there are at least two threads where I converted a full can 2005 vectra from a cd30 to a cd70 navi...mine is the monochrome GID though...the colour map style display is a totally different ball game requiring a video lead...
    Also the screen and head unit need to be programmed to each other not the ECU...Mine came from a signum without being reset first..therefore still programmed to each other...I fitted a £10 aerial from ebay and all worked fine...
    Any car pre 54plate..i.e. half can should be less complicated to program than mine which never saw the tech 2 man...

  6. #6
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Ferk me, I know someone now. You kept hat one quite. LOL
    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17071

  7. #7
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    Thats not quite true...there are at least two threads where I converted a full can 2005 vectra from a cd30 to a cd70 navi...mine is the monochrome GID though...the colour map style display is a totally different ball game requiring a video lead...
    Also the screen and head unit need to be programmed to each other not the ECU..
    Your not wrong, I need to read my own research first LOL
    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20928
    So how about a how 2 then.

  8. #8
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    OK, so you managed to successfully upgrade from CD30 to CD70 NAVI! Wow!
    Next question....

    Would it be possible to buy an aftermarket sat nav system and somehow use a GID screen for its display?

  9. #9
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    I'm not that technically minded....I held off fitting the CD70 for 12 months because of all the scare stories regarding incompatibility and the tech 2 monster...and then thought...oh bog it and just did it.
    Regarding a How 2...all I did was take out the old radio....
    put in the better one....
    fitted an aerial from e-bay...which I magnetically mounted inside the rear inner wing just in front of the off-side light cluster...
    The aerial was a lucky guess...
    regarding the fitting of a GID to a non vx GPS system....I'm sure that some geek may know of a way...but aint that clever..

  10. #10
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    The original question (i think) was could he fit the GID screen as he only has the radio display ie: Life/Club version
    If the loom isn't there then it is a bigger job than simply swapping head units over

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: CID Screen. (Colour Screen)
    By jodiexii in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th May 2013, 19:22
  2. Half screen to full screen,
    By SlowCoach in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th May 2012, 01:13
  3. GID Screen
    By cossie in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th March 2012, 23:24
  4. new screen now screen wiper problem
    By kenno31 in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 12:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •