User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: wires into dash from engine ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default wires into dash from engine ?

    Where can i run some wires from under the bonnet to inside the car?

    Ive seen the hole behind the battery-but where do the wires come through inside the car? and how dya pull them through



    tar

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where do you want the wires to end up ultimately? Asking as there is a hole with a grommet (under the scuttle panel) on the drivers side. That's where I fed my boost gauge pipe tubing through and it came in right into the area under the dash behind the steering wheel.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    2 wires r going from the battery to a switch on the centre console

    Rocker switch for the fogs

    cheers!

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Right. I think a favoured method for that one is a wire coat hanger. You can bend the tip of one end into a small loop, loop a length of the cable through and push the loop end of the hanger through.

    As for where it comes through, it should be in the area behind the glove box - which you'll need to remove.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    oh yeah,thanks thats a good idea i will try that tommorow

  6. #6
    Ex-Staff Full Member Ian T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Skynet HQ EMEC#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When I put the wiring in for my sub, if you remove the glovebox, up in the top corner near passenger wing is a grommet.
    If you look under the bonnet, lift cover where pollen filter is. Grommet is on right in corner of bulkhead.
    I've just taken this photo from engine side, you'll see the sub power lead going through, hope it helps.

    Last edited by Ian T; 4th September 2007 at 08:38.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanx a lot,i'll have a look and see which is easiest 2 get 2

  8. #8
    Regular Member danBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Remove the glovebox as said then look in the engine bay on the passenger side and remove the grommet, very easy access from both ends as I had to do this to give my head unit a power source.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LS now has foglights!!

    thanx i pushed wires through the hole like in the picture

    Fogs all connected up now with my switch in the dash as well

    Pictures to follow

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    FOG LIGHTS ALL DONE PICTURES

    http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread...095#post365095

    Many thanx!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2.0t traction control, wires behind dash but switch doesnt work
    By taffy bhoy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd August 2011, 08:29
  2. Best way to feed wires down the dash from the screen area
    By cont1204 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd May 2011, 23:30
  3. HELP, feeding wires through dash (footwell lights).
    By Robbie69 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 1st January 2009, 09:12
  4. Feeding wires from engine bay to interior - driver side
    By Vid in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th August 2008, 20:52
  5. can I hide wires from my dash!?
    By johnny kebab in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th October 2007, 19:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •