User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: pc help

  1. #1
    Regular Member SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default pc help

    i have 2 memory slots on my board 1 is a 128mb and the other a 256mb my prob is i have tried installing a 512mb instead of the 128mb , but i cant get the pc to come back on , it powers up ok but nothing on screen, ive tried every config with the memory sticks , a mate told me theres a little jumper i need to alter , i need help asap , please

    Steve

  2. #2
    Regular Member MysteryElite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    For memory the BIOS will usually auto detect. Could be the stick you are trying is bad or not the right spec.

    Can you post up what the motherboard is and what the spec of the memory is you are trying?

  3. #3
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    First things first,

    Have you got the right spec ram for the motherboard?

    Have you checked that the motherboard can take 512mb dimms? (I say this as the board sounds old due to the 128mb and 256mb dimms).

    Have you checked to see if there is a BIOS update for the board?

    Which board is it?

  4. #4
    Regular Member SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    best info i can give is
    its a celeron 1.1
    xp pro
    the installed memory is -slot1 128mb sdram 133
    slot2 256mb sdram 133
    on the new 512 stick it says 512mb pc133 sdram dimm memor

  5. #5
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    First of all it`s no recommended to have different types of mem sticks on the slots, it will cause inestability. For what you describe the bios some how is getting in conflict with the new ram. try to use only the 512MB on slot 1 and lets see what happens HTH

  6. #6
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Its possible that the 512mb dimm you have may be the wrong specs timing wise, failing that the board may not be able to take 512mb dimms.

  7. #7
    Regular Member SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    tryed that rob , nothing happens
    ive just ran CPU-Z and its come back with this

    MANUFACTURER GIGABYTE

    MODEL i810

    CHIPSET INTEL i810

    SOUTHBRIDGE INTEL 82801 1AA (ICH)

    SENSOR WINBOND W83627HF

    BIOS
    AMERICAN MEGATRENDS INC VERSION 3.0 DATE 07/10/2001

  8. #8
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've just looked up the Gigabyte i810 range and it seems it will only take a mximum of 256mb in each slot - therefore if you have two slots the maximum you can install is 2 x 256mb = 512mb, so the single 512mb is a no go.

    Time for an upgrade me thinks!

  9. #9
    Regular Member MysteryElite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i810 is the chipset type I think rather than the MoBo model. Is there any part number or type number etched on the board itself? Failing that if the computer is a branded one, do you have the brand and model, e.g. from a sticker on the case?

    My guess is it doesn't support 512MB DIMMS - my old Pentium III MoBo only supported up to 256 (it had 3 slots so could take 768 in total).

  10. #10
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Its limited to 512mb by this chipset.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •