User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Signum Front Fog Lamps..urgent Help Needed!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MANSFIELD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Signum Front Fog Lamps..urgent Help Needed!

    Hi everyone. I have finally found the time to share with you a ll my BIG problem!

    I purchased Signum Elegance 2.0 DTi 2004 a little over two years ago. The car came without front foglamps so following a post on Vectra C/ Signum Owners Club a fellow member replied and i was the owner of a set of front fog lamps and surrounds!

    I subsequently made numerous calls to Vauxhall dealerships to have them fitted but not one dealer was enthusiastic about fitting them? It was as if it were too much trouble. Some dealers even quoted hidious quotes for fitting them just to put me off.

    Anyway, long story short, I have now had the front fog lamps fitted together with a new wiring loom and dash switch. Unfortunately, the dealer advised that they were not able to reset the car in order for the lamps to work? The dealer and myself tried to contact Vauxhall Technical but they never returned to either of us.

    I took the car to an auto-electrician wheo said 'he had done loads of these' and there would'nt be a problem...he was wrong. He could not reset the car and said a complete fuse/relay box was required from a Signum that has front fog lamps fitted to it????

    I am now left with a pair of front fog lamps, a 250.00 bill from Vauxhall and no working lamps. Surley in this age of ECU remapping, engine tuning era there is a way doing it. Why can't it be easy for me to flick a switch and my front fogs illuminate?

    Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a way around it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this!

    Carrera

  2. #2
    Regular Member wardy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chichester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    would have thought any auto electrician could wire them up using an off the shelf relay, and in line fuse.??

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    morton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i seem to remember that cars without foglamps need to go on tech 2 !? or summat !? i'm sure one of the lads on here should be able to shed some light on your dilemma !!?

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I know it applied to the 1.8, if the car didn't come with fogs then it needed not only all the loom but also a different ECU as different ECUs were installed depending on what was fitted in the car. Not sure if the same applied to the 2.0DTi.

    If it does, then the other way to do it is to wire the lights directly into the battery using a relay and a separate switch inside the car. A couple of people have done this and I think there is even a How 2 in the How 2 section.

    D

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MANSFIELD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Many Thanks...

    Many thanks for your reply. Seems it's not an esay job as i first thought!

    The idea of a relay is an option however, it would be nice to be able to use the vauxhall switch now that i have purchased and instaled a new one with both front and rear fog lamp switches on it. It looks alot neater.

    Maybe given a little time someone will have the answer and post a reply!!

    Many thanks again, much appreciated.

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You won't be able to use the Vx fog switch that you've bought unless the ECU is set-up for having fogs. The switch works on CanBus (electronic data bus) so is not a straightforward electrical switch.

    Unless the ECU is set up for having fogs then the only way is via the separate switch/relay to the battery as above.

    Might be worth getting a dealer to pop the Tech 2 on your car to see if the fog light option is present and just needs turned on.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you used a latching relay you could use the VX switch. keep the connection for backlighting the switch, but rewire the contacts to your latcher.

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Even with the Vx light switch being CanBus

  9. #9
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The physical switch is just a normal microswitch, so as long as you can get to the back of it without destroying the switch surround you can negate the CAN trickery and use like any other switch. Looks like it closes pin 11 and pin 8 on the multiconnector according to TIS.

  10. #10
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah gotcha, so you wire from the normal switch to the new separate relay/wiring that is going straight to the battery.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Urgent help needed, more signum problems :(
    By Shogun in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 29th September 2012, 20:45
  2. Urgent Help Needed please, Signum Elite 2.0T CIM/Dash/Electrical Problems!!!!!
    By robs_gsi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th April 2012, 10:43
  3. Front fog lamps
    By nedk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st October 2008, 18:17
  4. urgent help needed re signum and dealer
    By merikiito in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th January 2008, 01:13
  5. Front fog lamps
    By cdtisri in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2006, 21:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •