User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: car alarm siren

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default car alarm siren

    car alarm siren......(Or lack of)

    I was in the post office doing my ebay stuff as you do
    Anyways left father in car for a while and the alarm went off.The thing is i was only across a small road and i couldn't hear a thing from the alarm.I was only alerted by the hazards flashing when i loooked out the window .The alarm on the vectra is very very very quiet!!

    I seen this alarm siren and thought maybe i could upgrade to a louder siren with more tones on Its says "Compatible with most major car alarms and all Falcon alarms" Its a 2 wire connection so should be easy to fit. Would it work on the vectra C 2003 iF I swop the sirens over?? Or could anyone recommend 1 from ebay that may work Cheers.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sorry forgot the link herei s 1 i found on ebay

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TOAD-6-TONE-CA...QQcmdZViewItem

  3. #3
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    AFAIK the only person here to successfully upgrade the woefully poor factory alarm is Green Growler, and to do that he had to virtually strip out the car. Having said that, if you're only swapping a sounder for another sounder, you may just get away with it......worth a try for that price?

    CANBUS is the best and worst thing ever to happen to car electronics!

  4. #4
    Regular Member John35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    in a white box
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    we need pictures and a "How 2" as well...........

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if you're only swapping a sounder for another sounder, you may just get away with it......
    yes thats all i wanted to do

    The ebay siren looks identical to the vauxhall one in the boot I just went and had a look.It should be a straight swop hopefully only 2 wires to connect/disconnect.

    would there be any problems with electrics disconnecting the vectra siren and replacing with toad siren? would i need to pay vauxhall to reset anything?

    would be good 125DB the toad alarm siren is .how loud is the Vauxhall siren??

  6. #6
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Might be worth dropping Green Growler a PM, if anyone knows, he will. Or GSi3.2, he knows a bit too

  7. #7
    Regular Member Marty J CDTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeovil
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Let us know how you get on mate as I might do that jus to annoy the neighbours!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i did send the seller an ebay message yesterday but he's not responded yet.....

  9. #9
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi guys, short answer is, sorry but I have no idea if you can upgrade the siren or not.
    I have fitted a Clifford alarm to mine, I haven't tried to modify the standard alarm, it is still there intact, as it left the factory.

    However, if I was going to do this, and I’m afraid I certainly have got the time to look into this myself now.
    I would start by seeing how the factory siren works, unplug it, put a multimeter across the wires to it (NOT a test light) and see what results you get when the alarm is set off.
    IF it has the same kind of connection when it is going off as a aftermarket siren then you should be able to swap it.
    With any luck, the wires will be dead when the alarm is not going off and supplying a constant +12volts when it is going off.
    IF this is the case then yes, swapping it should be possible.
    But, if the control unit is separate, and the feed to the wires is not constant, ie, it is pulsed, then this makes things much more difficult, though it still may be possible to swap sirens.
    If it has +12v I would also put an amp meter across it while it is going off as well, to check how much current it is drawing, and MAKE SURE the siren you replace the original with, does NOT draw more current or you may cause some damage.
    If someone tests the wires, and posts the results, I will gladly offer more advise depending on what the results are.

    My other thought is location, behind a panel in the boot is just about as bad as it gets, might be worth an experiment to see if you could extend the wires and move the siren to another location, ideally under the bonnet.
    Now of course, replacing the siren, and moving it could bring some excellent results !!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member korlinski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    South
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could be an idea to move the siren to behind the bumper (if its water proof)

    Would be loud there

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. alarm siren
    By TAL in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12th May 2011, 17:41
  2. Signum 2.2 Dti Alarm Siren!!!!!!!!!help!
    By signumdti in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th September 2008, 23:05
  3. alarm siren
    By kev bux in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th September 2008, 11:44
  4. Vectra-c Alarm Siren
    By B19CBB in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 30th November 2007, 17:52
  5. Alarm Siren..
    By C19_CJB in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th August 2005, 22:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •