User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Tech 2 problems

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Tech 2 problems

    Hi all, new to this. I have acquired a tech2 fault code reader. When I plug it into the car ( ignitiop on ) and connect to laptop and try and run the software it says device is not connected.
    However, with the software came a program for VAG-COM. Although it doesn't work for the vx it still recognises it. Any idea what i'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    have you got a weblink or picture/description of what your using? unless you get exactly the right lead and software it wont play nice.

  3. #3
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The converted View Post
    Hi all, new to this. I have acquired a tech2 fault code reader. When I plug it into the car ( ignitiop on ) and connect to laptop and try and run the software it says device is not connected.
    However, with the software came a program for VAG-COM. Although it doesn't work for the vx it still recognises it. Any idea what i'm doing wrong?
    VAG-COM ----------Volkswagen Audi Group ? Wrong software I'd say

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Tech2

    Yes I know. The software was on the cd along with the tech2 program. I tried it on the offchance to see if it could detect it and it did but the tech2 software just says the device is not connected.
    maybe I got the settings wrong?
    Thanks for replying.

    John

    Oh by the way, it says its and opel tech2 and I got a new serial to ubs and my laptop likes it. Does all the baud rate and things like that have to match?

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you haven't got a Candi interface (CanBus) interface for your lead/hardware then you won't have a chance of reading data onto the laptop.

  6. #6
    Regular Member BigMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pretending to be unmarked Police in my T5...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Personally, i would leave it well alone. If you have not been trained or know how to use one properly, then steer well clear. It will all end in lots of tears and lots of money!!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Inverurie
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As stated by John K VAGCOM software is for the VW/Audi group set of cars. I have seen whilst searching the old web software claiming to do the same. Although the general consensus of those in the know on here is that the VX system is very locked down so I have my doubts.

    Search the web and see what you find. Good luck.

    Andy

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for replies. Its ironic that for the last 6 years I have been driving vw's only to take it for a swim in flood water!! I end up with a vectra with vag software that works and vx that doesn't . How strange life is. Must have been a bad boy in my previous life ( or this one ).

  9. #9
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    i've tried tech 2 from ebay on an old works astra, 1.7dti & it was terrible, i was also using it via a usb serial convertor, ended up sending it back and bought a plug in hand held unit for £30, works a treat, reads the codes and you can delete the codes aswell, it wasnt canbus though but there are plenty of canbus readers on the net that are cheap, i also bought an ecu flasher and remapped the 1.7dti astra, it went a whole lot better then...!!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Tech2

    That sounds like the same problem. maybe I will do the same as you. Did you get the hand held on ebay ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. z18xer vvti, problems, problems
    By gstore in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 20th April 2012, 13:33
  2. 1.8 vvti problems, problems problems!!!
    By gstore in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd March 2012, 01:31
  3. crusie control problems, anyone had similar problems?
    By rozzer2006 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd October 2011, 21:20
  4. 1.9 cdti auto problems problems
    By trigger in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th September 2009, 17:20
  5. 3 button key problems (vx tech needed)
    By martinbruce in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th October 2008, 23:32

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •