User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Trip Computer

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Trip Computer

    regarding the average mpg display on the driver info centre/trip computer, when I got my car it was set to show instantaneous (sp) consumption so was always displaying 0,0 or 0,1 so I went into it, selected to show average consumption and it showed 42,9 and very rarely changed e.g. it has been at 43,1 for the last couple of days.

    but today I went into reset all settings, as I wanted my average consumption figure from the driving we were doing, and not the consumption the car had had over the last 15K miles (before I owned the car), but now on the display it changes constantly even when driving or sitting still, i.e. jumps from 39 to 37 to 38 and then digits after the comma (e.g. xx,6) change even more frequently,

    help, whats up with my trip comp, whys it constantly changing when it wasnt changing much before?? (and yes, it set to display average consumption before and is still set to show that)

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It must be displaying current instead of average, How did you do it as I would like mine too *lol* I would prefer it to average ??

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hendry
    regarding the average mpg display on the driver info centre/trip computer, when I got my car it was set to show instantaneous (sp) consumption so was always displaying 0,0 or 0,1 so I went into it, selected to show average consumption and it showed 42,9 and very rarely changed e.g. it has been at 43,1 for the last couple of days.

    but today I went into reset all settings, as I wanted my average consumption figure from the driving we were doing, and not the consumption the car had had over the last 15K miles (before I owned the car), but now on the display it changes constantly even when driving or sitting still, i.e. jumps from 39 to 37 to 38 and then digits after the comma (e.g. xx,6) change even more frequently,

    help, whats up with my trip comp, whys it constantly changing when it wasnt changing much before?? (and yes, it set to display average consumption before and is still set to show that)
    I think you will find that as you say, the previous average was taken over 15k+ miles. now you have reset it, it is giving an average of the last few miles since the reset. Hence you will get a more accurate average.
    I think thats how it works! no doubt somebody will correct me if i'm wrong.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ergh, pressed the button on the wiper stalk to bring up the diff things it can display, went to reset all, and selected a couple of the other displays (e.g. instantaneous, etc.) then selected average again, then hit return.

    if I've managed to make it current instead of average, how do I get it back to average again?? as the old man is getting a bit pee'd off with me for doing it, and I dunno how much miles I'm getting from a gallon, which is annoying.

  5. #5
    Regular Member pacarcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It shows the average since it was last reset. ie, when you got the car it may not have been reset for thousands of miles. Therefore the average will not change a great deal.

    Now it has been reset again, it is calculating the mpg over the last few miles. If you reset it then drive for mile, all of which is up hill the mpg will be very low. Then a down hill section will bring up the mpg again. So the further you go, the less it will change and the more accurate the reading will be.

    Taking the average over a very short distance will always be more unreliable and so it changes frequently. As the distance since the reset increases, the accuracy will increase and it will not change as much.

    I didn't explain that very well really, so I hope you can see what I am trying to say!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes I know what you's are meaning, thankfully it sounds like I havent inadvertantly ****ed it up. lol

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Graeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i reset mine every time i fill up and it does give a pretty accurate reading mate.

  8. #8
    Ex-Staff Full Member big phil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    WIGSTON , LEICESTER
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I Reset Mine Each Time I Fill Up As Well , I've Gotta Stop It As It's Depressing Me



    Watch the truck pull on youtube --http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjGfVxXov1E

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    so why does mine keep fluctuating now that I've reset it??

    does no1 elses move up and down by 2/3mpg while driving after its been reset and the figures after the comma constantly vary??

    I'm getting worried I've screwed up my average consumption feature now.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    You will know if it is reading instant mpg or not simply by driving as normal then take you foot off the accelerator. It should read 999.9 mpg!!! If it only goes up a couple of mpg then you are set to average.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. trip computer..
    By djdee in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th March 2011, 12:53
  2. Trip Computer
    By Matt Cutler in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd June 2009, 22:27
  3. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33
  4. trip computer
    By vectramad in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd August 2008, 19:22
  5. Trip Computer even possible?
    By delete2 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st August 2008, 01:00

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •