User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Fitting Xenons on Signum

  1. #1
    Regular Member ambit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Unhappy Fitting Xenons on Signum

    Ive just fitted my Xenons onto my 54 reg Signum. Its a H7 genuine HID kit and its all plug and play, had this kit working on my previous car with no trouble. Did the install, turned on the headlights and the Xenons worked great, started the engine, turned on the headlights and after about twenty seconds of being on they both start flickering rapidly, ive tried everything, checking connections, unplugging one side then the other, if you just have the one headlight connected it still flickers with the engine running, but with the engine off theres no fault. My thoughts initially were of a short circuit with the engine running, but I cant find it. Any Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have a read at this - the section marked WARNING

  3. #3
    Regular Member ambit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    mmmm, insteresting read, exactly the same fault listed there, Ive had this kit working on a 2003 MG ZT Cdti, and an Audi 03 A4 1.9 Tdi without any probs, but if they dont work then I will have to revert back to my standard halogens for now. Cheers for the info - very useful.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ambit View Post
    Any Thoughts?
    I think you should get a dealer to use Tech 2 to configure your UEC for Xenon headlights instead of Halogen headlights - that should cure your flickering.

  5. #5
    Regular Member ambit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Wink

    I have taken the Xenons off the car for now, I will speak to Vauxhall about the tech 2 configuration. Will let you know if I get it done and if it works.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The problems is (as I found with my last car a BMW) They pulse the power to halogen bulbs. This, apparently, is to make them last longer. But this will, of course, cause the problem you describe.

    As said above, see if VX can switch this off by Tech2.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stu14t View Post
    The problems is (as I found with my last car a BMW) They pulse the power to halogen bulbs. This, apparently, is to make them last longer. But this will, of course, cause the problem you describe.

    As said above, see if VX can switch this off by Tech2.
    Sems a bit odd - I can't remember the last time I had a halogen bulb go & that was before they got to pulsing them. In my last car they lasted over 6 years & were still ok when I sold it. They'll probably outlast the pulsing unit which is a bit cockeyed

  8. #8
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No your right, I got it wrong.

    What it is, the computer in the car tries to detect the halogen bulb and because the ballast from the HID kit does not look electricly like a bulb it thinks the bulb has gone and starts to send pulses to check the circuit.

    Apparently there may also be issues with auto on lights as well.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    That sounds about right - cheers

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have got an HID upgrade for HID's 4 U. I have the same problem an it was the fuse's in the HID wiring loom that kept blowing. After speaking with the technician at HID's 4 U they suggested changing the fuse for a larger one (upto 5 amp) andi've had no problems since.

    If you have just purchased the kit on itself or transferred it from another vehicle then you need to purchase (or make) a wiring loom to combat the bulb failure system on Vectra's. I chose the easier option and purchased them from HID's 4 u.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. how hard is it fitting genuine xenons onto pre face lift signum
    By deano1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th July 2012, 23:27
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th February 2012, 20:42
  3. Retro Fitting Xenons bit of help
    By jimbojetset in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th June 2011, 11:23
  4. Could this be the easy way of fitting Xenons????
    By merikiito in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 25th September 2009, 18:21
  5. Signum Xenons?
    By Cheech in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th December 2005, 21:37

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •