User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: 888 Remap Failed!

  1. #1
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Unhappy 888 Remap Failed!

    Well, took my 1.9CDTi 150 to VXR Performance for the 888 remap. This was a day I was looking forward to but it was not to be!



    Got there at about 10:30am and disturbed Nigel during his tea break (This is probably the reason) and then met Tony and they both got to work on her.

    No problems to start with as Nigel read and reset all the fault codes. He then uploaded the current software from the ECU into the Tech2 and checked TIS. Even though the car was only just over a month old, there was an update available and so they began the update process and then sent the file away for tweaking.

    Tony said that this part may be quick or take some time, depending what their programmers found. As luck would have it, it only took an hour or so and they sent back the new updated and remapped software.

    Great, I thought, I'll be back home for Neighbours but it was not to be

    All credit to Both Tony and Nigel, they tried hard to force the new map in. However, it soon became apparent that she was having none of it.

    Every time Nigel tried to upload the new software it just failed. There wasn't even a hint of it trying to take it.

    Tony was getting a bit nervous as there was a possibility she may take the new map and just lock down with no possibility of getting the old software back on, leaving us with a dead Vectra.

    We agreed that it would be best to stop (at 17:00) and try to get her to a stealers to try and see if we could get them to try and do the same thing, their upload would fail too and they would replace the ecu under warranty.

    So, next day, booked her in to a local VX place and complained about things not working that would point to a dodgy ecu. When I got her back they hod not done an update OR tried and would not admit they had failed to do so, they just spun a line about not updating software unless the fault was directly related to the fault that the update cured.

    I would still love to have this remap done so does anyone have any suggestions to make VX change the ECU ?

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes mate. Go to another dealer and explain the full story. Ask them to contact 888 and get a full explanation.

    A lot of dealers respect 888, so it's worth a shot.

  3. #3
    Regular Member MattB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Harpenden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Familiar story with the latest batch of 1.9 CDTi 150's I'm afraid.

    888 have seen my car FOUR times now without any remapping success.

    The latest software from GM is proving tough to crack apparently!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Stu14t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Beginning to think I will have to go for a tuning box. However, I am still hopeful this is an issue with the ECU.

    We tried to update using only the updated VX software with no remap and she wouldn't even have that.

  5. #5
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    does your car have a cd40 opera fitted ? ..........

  6. #6
    Regular Member AndrewTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Guttedsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benny View Post
    does your car have a cd40 opera fitted ? ..........
    I'm intreagued to see where this is going.

  7. #7
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew's SRi View Post
    I'm intreagued to see where this is going.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    me to
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin Stevel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benny View Post
    does your car have a cd40 opera fitted ? ..........

    Stu's car does have the CD 40 opera.

    http://forum.vectra-c.com/showthread.php?t=24431

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin Stevel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stu14t View Post
    Well, took my 1.9CDTi 150 to VXR Performance for the 888 remap. This was a day I was looking forward to but it was not to be!



    Got there at about 10:30am and disturbed Nigel during his tea break (This is probably the reason) and then met Tony and they both got to work on her.

    No problems to start with as Nigel read and reset all the fault codes. He then uploaded the current software from the ECU into the Tech2 and checked TIS. Even though the car was only just over a month old, there was an update available and so they began the update process and then sent the file away for tweaking.

    Tony said that this part may be quick or take some time, depending what their programmers found. As luck would have it, it only took an hour or so and they sent back the new updated and remapped software.

    Great, I thought, I'll be back home for Neighbours but it was not to be

    All credit to Both Tony and Nigel, they tried hard to force the new map in. However, it soon became apparent that she was having none of it.

    Every time Nigel tried to upload the new software it just failed. There wasn't even a hint of it trying to take it.

    Tony was getting a bit nervous as there was a possibility she may take the new map and just lock down with no possibility of getting the old software back on, leaving us with a dead Vectra.

    We agreed that it would be best to stop (at 17:00) and try to get her to a stealers to try and see if we could get them to try and do the same thing, their upload would fail too and they would replace the ecu under warranty.

    So, next day, booked her in to a local VX place and complained about things not working that would point to a dodgy ecu. When I got her back they hod not done an update OR tried and would not admit they had failed to do so, they just spun a line about not updating software unless the fault was directly related to the fault that the update cured.

    I would still love to have this remap done so does anyone have any suggestions to make VX change the ECU ?
    Stu. On a slight different topic. Have you got the standard exclusiv suspension/brakes? ..and if so did 888 have any comments on remapping an Exclusiv?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2.0t remap from remap science bradford
    By stefan7153 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th May 2011, 22:03
  2. car failed m.o.t
    By morri76 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th March 2011, 18:16
  3. Failed MOT on...
    By TomiboyC in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5th February 2011, 20:58
  4. MOT failed :-(
    By byebyeitsagsi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th March 2010, 20:14
  5. It's failed me again
    By Triple Trouble in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 15th December 2007, 17:59

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •