User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: T.C. switch query

  1. #1
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default T.C. switch query

    I'm thinking of fitting the traction control switch to my 54 reg SRi, but first need to look behind the switch blank to see if I've got the necessary (blue, I believe) electrical connector. I've read that the correct location is on the right of the radio, directly below the alarm switch.
    Stupid question maybe, but how do you release the switch blanks? Are they just spring loaded, or do you have to release them from behind (via the radio aperture maybe). I don't want to damage anything.
    Can anyone help?
    Doug

  2. #2
    Regular Member HighlandGraham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Greetings Doug

    Thats a fair question, and one I might add that I was going to be asking real soon. Its one of the first mods I am looking at making to the new Signum when she comes home.

    Watching this thread for answers,

    Regards sent

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Blank pops out with a little help from a small screwdriver but even if you do have a blue socket behind it there is no guarantee the T/C will turn off. Mine does'nt and so do a few others on here. Some do. Pot luck it seems!

    See this link. http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...light=traction
    Last edited by Caterman; 20th October 2005 at 22:54.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll check if I've got the blue plug tomorrow and, if I have, I'll buy the switch and take a chance (it's only a tenner or so anyway). Even if it doesn't work it'll look good lit up at night!!
    I noticed that two different part numbers are quoted for the switch on this forum. I'll take them both numbers to the VX parts desk - hopefully they'll know which one's right for my '54' 2.2 Direct.
    Doug

  5. #5
    Regular Member MLC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll keep an eye on this doug. Mines a 54 plate 2.2sri diect, so I'll be interested to see the result.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well, I've removed the switch blank (on my "54" SRi 2.2 Direct) and the blue socket is there ready for the switch. It is a lot smaller than I imagined and set right back. You need a torch and to get right down to see it.
    Hurrah.....off to VX in the morning to buy (or order) the switch!
    Doug

  7. #7
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ceejay
    Can this not be enabled by Tech2??
    I spoke to the "autolec" in the local dealers and he was'nt sure if it could be enabled with tech 2. Mind you, i don't think he had the intelligence to string a decent sentence together.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Doug-SRidirect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    One thing though, I fully expected to see a large blue socket and was really surprised to find it is a tiny thing tucked into the top rear corner of the hole in the dash. It can only really be seen with a torch and by getting right down and pearing into the hole.
    Just a thought, but I wonder if the people on this forum who have reported finding no socket, maybe ought to take another look as it's so small and set so far back.
    It would be strange for VX to have some with it and some without it. Surely they'll use the same wiring loom.
    Worth another look???
    Doug

  9. #9
    Professional Trader
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    sheffield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Fitted the tc switch to mine (54 cdti) but it doesnt work......

  10. #10
    Regular Member suj786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I currently have a veccy elegance, its a 1.8 petrol. As far as i was aware it doesnt come with traction control. I do have a blue connector behind where the tc button goes. If i but this button in will I get traction control ???

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Small 12v Auto circuit for on/off switch for PDC switch
    By markm in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th October 2012, 23:00
  2. Clutch Switch & Brake Switch
    By spennny in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th June 2011, 12:01
  3. headlight switch window switch in blue
    By delboy2028 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2010, 08:56
  4. 1.9 query
    By Graeme01 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th October 2009, 08:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •