User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: CD30 to CDC 40 opera upgrade

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Heathrow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD30 to CDC 40 opera upgrade

    I've heard alot of bad things about these radios and that its not as simple as just pluging in the new radio, putting in the sectuity code and of you go. Can anyone explain to me in as much detail as poss what this is all about.

    I have only just bought a CDC40 off EBAY and im starting to think this was a bad move.

    many thanks.

    will

  2. #2
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I believe it needs to have been de-programmed out of the donor vehicle by tech 2, if it hasn't you've a large door-stop

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    true, unless it is deprogramed from the donor car with tech2 it's practically useless..so hope it was done....and it will need to be installed at a dealers to get it to come live again, as these days the stereo unit is far far more complicated than the one's that you can buy in halfords and are actually part of the cars canbus curcuitry

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Heathrow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll take it to vauxhall, apparently it will cost arround £ 35 to sort out.

    Others have said that it does not matter about de-programing it from the original car just take it to a main dealer or a good car audo shop???????

  5. #5
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    the 40 uses different front speakers , they are 18cm 2 ohm jobbies .

    Yep it has to be in the car , you then have to tell it , its going on holiday from the car , then reprogramme it into yours , did you get the display as well , as its a full graphic with the 40 .
    radio decoding bods cant do sod all with them. if its not been tech2'd out yer mullered

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Heathrow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just the radio, no display, i presumed the one in the car would do the job. When you say tech2'd out is this where they connect a computer to that plug under the ashtray.

  7. #7
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The cdc40 has a built in graphic equalizer, cah show text from dab stations etc, you need the high resolution display to get the best out of it, don't know if it would work with the standard display

  8. #8
    Regular Member pricey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If it's a DAB radio, would you not also need the DAB unit that goes behind the glovebox, and also a different aerial base??

  9. #9
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    CDC40 exists also without DAB unit, but it needs GID (or CID). If the car is equipped with ECC, a graphic display will be already present, so this could work.
    And as DennisTheMenace said the CD30 is 4x20W whereas the CDC40 has 2 x 45W and 3x20W output


    Quote Originally Posted by willbert69 View Post
    Others have said that it does not matter about de-programing it from the original car just take it to a main dealer or a good car audo shop???????
    Heard this one before, but refuse to believe it, at least I hope it is not true (and surely not main dealer)

  10. #10
    Regular Member moke930's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Although this post may be a little late, it may help someone in the future, I tried to do the same but to no avail.
    It is almost impossible to upgrade from a CD30 to one of vauxhalls better DAB units, In order to do it, you need the headunit, the DAB unit that goes somewhere around the gearbox, the wiring and aerial.
    I bought a CDC40 headunit off Ebay and thought that was all I needed, I did not know about the DAB gearbox bit (costs £600 from Vaux) and I was told that tech 2 could sort out the programming problem, but that is not true.
    To change it legally, you need the registration of the vehicle the head unit was taken from, or have it de programmed (something to do with 2 pieces of a security code needed but only 1 is on the head unit itself, the other bit is hidden somewhere else in the car, in addition to requiring the gearbox bit.
    Even then, the vauxhall garage said the DAB units are done in the factory because they are so much easier to put in when the car is being built and it would cost between £350 and £450 for the installation because of the time it takes as they need to get access to the gearbox area and do all kinds of things to fit that stupid little box, and then install the wiring and aerial. They were not sure of an accurate price because no-one has gone ahead with it because of the price it would cost. They quoted me £1500 to have it done. but that included the gearbox unit (£600)

    Instead I have gone for an aftermarket headunit with a fascia and a connects2 box so that I can keep my steering wheel controls.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade from cd30 to DVD90 - What to buy?
    By Borgen in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th May 2010, 18:14
  2. CD30 swap to CDC40 Opera
    By Neil71 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2nd November 2008, 20:41
  3. CD30 upgrade?
    By Bobfish in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th August 2008, 09:14
  4. CD30 Upgrade?
    By 900ss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th June 2008, 14:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •