User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Changing clocks...

  1. #1
    Regular Member Kev_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gateshead, Tyne and wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : Z20NET

    Year : 04

    Default Changing clocks...

    I have an '02 plate 3.2 V6 Elite

    It currently has the 170MPH clocks in, I have added the silver surrounds from another Vec but I still want the real thing, I.E the clocks with the rings as standard as they DO look better than my D.I.Y effort, if I got another set of 170MPH from another Vec with the silver rings, would they basically plug and play with my car? I've read somewhere in the past about people buying new clocks and taking the car to Vauxhall to have the correct mileage information transferred over,

    can anyone shed any light on this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorry...no clue at all about the clocks....but where did you got the silver rings? I would like to fit some around in my clocks Is it a difficult jod to do?

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes you can change the faces of the clocks.
    it will take about a hour and a half to do the change over.

    i will do a how to ,, from taking the clocks out of the car to back in

  4. #4
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisgettings View Post
    yes you can change the faces of the clocks.
    it will take about a hour and a half to do the change over.

    i will do a how to ,, from taking the clocks out of the car to back in
    Many thanks m8 ....but this leaves me with the second part of the deal...where can I get some silver rims, Vecs in Mexico they don`t come with them.....on ebay UK they sell the hole clock gadget which I would not buy

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  6. #6
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Nop...no luck there...hey but many thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kev_A View Post
    I've read somewhere in the past about people buying new clocks and taking the car to Vauxhall to have the correct mileage information transferred over
    As far as I know, the instrument cluster odometer can only be set when the cluster is near new. I think you can't do it once the odometer reads over (maybe) 100 km.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Kev_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gateshead, Tyne and wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : Z20NET

    Year : 04

    Default

    Hmm, so as long as the mileage on the other clocks is under 100KM (I work that out at 62.14 MPH) then I could take them to Vauxhall and have them adjust to the correct mileage electronically, would there be any other issues? I.E differing plug sizes, Canbus etc. etc.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kev_A View Post
    Hmm, so as long as the mileage on the other clocks is under 100KM (I work that out at 62.14 MPH) then I could take them to Vauxhall and have them adjust to the correct mileage electronically, would there be any other issues? I.E differing plug sizes, Canbus etc. etc.
    I'm not absolutely certain about 100km, but it's something like that. Plugs should be the same for all models. You'll need to have the cluster configured correctly, but that should just be a Tech2 problem - this is where CAN is your friend.

    Oh, and make sure that the replacement cluster is "reset" (i.e. unlinked from its former home) before installing it in the new car.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. changing bulb in clocks
    By abz123 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th October 2012, 17:56
  2. 140mph Clocks To 170mph Clocks
    By Lean6 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th September 2012, 20:48
  3. new clocks
    By Ben_ in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22nd February 2012, 22:54
  4. New clocks in
    By andyman201 in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 14th April 2010, 16:52
  5. changing clocks
    By mhvcbv in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 22nd February 2008, 20:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •