User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: vac hose on 3.2

  1. #1
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default vac hose on 3.2

    Maybe one for the tech heads on here...bought a couple of ecotek valves which have to be fitted into a vac hose on the inlet manifold.(servo hose being most common)..speaking to the guys at ecotek they say that this isn't the case with the 3.2 as this only comes off one side(or something..regardless..its not suitable). They recomended installing into the vac pipe that goes to the carbon filter, went to vx today as had to pic up some bits and got one of their guys to look..he couldn't say which hose went to the filter and reckoned the hose going to the tank vent valve could be used. can anyone confirm this or give me another option? as far as i understand it ideally it would need to be located in a hose thats immediatly after the butterfly on the throttle housing

    ps No disrespect to anyone offering advice but would only like to hear 100% facts about this eg no i think its this one...as i'd like to get this right first time and not be chopping into pipes willynilly, Much thanks
    Last edited by hagga; 2nd July 2007 at 23:42.

  2. #2
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Break servo vac hose mate. But bin them, there duff and the noise they produce will drive you mad!

  3. #3
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    Break servo vac hose mate. But bin them, there duff and the noise they produce will drive you mad!
    Ive used them before and find them to be ok..as a bhp upper they're no good but find they give metter mpg on a run..not fussed about the noise as my sterio is always up high lol as for the servo hose..have been told by ecotek that they can't be fitted there.

  4. #4
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    They work by pulsing air into the air intake to try and mix air/fuel better for a better burn. They are tosh mate, if they worked the motorsport industry would be using them. They need a vacuum to work hence why I mentioned the servo hose and as close to the t piece as possible as this will then pulse into the intake. But as I said mate, apart from the bling (when you add the extra filters not supplied) they will do nothing to your 3.2 apart from drive you mad with there rasping noise on deceleration.

    EDIT Wrote that not seeing your last post.
    You've used them before, and if your happy with them then who am I to judge.
    I took mine to pug dealer (as I fitted it to my 306) he took me through the hole vac system and this was the only place to fit it to the engine on that. Maybe Mark (GSI 3.2) may be able to point you to a more suitable area for the 3.2
    Last edited by rushy; 3rd July 2007 at 00:01.

  5. #5
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    to be fair not everyone does rate them, I agree that they need the vacuum but this is gonna be most at closed or part throttle..which isn't common in motorsport. The servo hose is ideal on 4pot engines(or straights) but apparently on the 3.2 the servo hose is biased more to the front half of the manifold. As I said before,Ive used them before and found them ok but this was on 4 pot carb'd engines, I'll report back on effects these have on the 3.2....I might just agree with you lol

  6. #6
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Looks like you've done your homework mate. Keep us informed.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    right, well all i can say is that the servo vacumn takeoff is only 15mm ahead of the centre line of the vee's plenum, see photograph...



    so their reference to it being not suitable confuses me slightly..on the old Carb'd J series engines and the later VX engines that i have seen them fitted to, they whereall attached to the servo vacumn line, even though it drew it's vacumn off of one inlet tract out of the 4 only, so how that is supposed to be described as a central lineof draw is beyond me....and that servo line is really the only 'get attable' line to tap into, as the other end



    ..is only a breather hose and a small water line then it's the butterfly, so there is no real ability to attach it there....

    Upon my past experience with these devices, i'd still plump for the servo hose, it's accesable and will do the job just as well as any other installation i have seen...

  8. #8
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers Mark, I'm confused what to do now lol, not that I'm saying that your wrong just wonder why the ecotek guys said not to use the servo one. What did you reckon to the hose that runs from the tank vent valve to the underside of the butterfly.(may see if vx has a throttle housing I can look at to see where this port sits)

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    remembering the size of the hose that the ecotec needs to fit into ( about 6mm bore) i seriously wonder if the tank vent line would be big enough or provide enough draw?

  10. #10
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've just had a good look and that vent goes into the body right (manifold side) of the butterfly, I disconnected the pipe at the solenoid valve and there is plenty of vacuum there(deacreases as throttle is opened)(friendly nieghbour required when you have drive by wire grrr lol) so ive bunged them in there..the hose id wasn't an issue as the rigid is approx 9mm bore and vent flow should be ok as the solenoid valve is similar id to the ecoteks. Thanks for your help guys and I'll report back on any findings.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Boost hose
    By woody in shetland in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th December 2012, 09:58
  2. What hose is this??
    By glasgowdarren in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 3rd August 2012, 22:04
  3. Name that hose?
    By garetmcc79 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th May 2012, 17:09
  4. airbox hose
    By 19CDTi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th January 2010, 23:56
  5. hose size
    By GSi-Col in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th January 2010, 23:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c 3.2 vacume pipe

vacuum hose vectra c 3.2

vacuum vectra 3.2

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •