User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ECU replacement following remap

  1. #1
    Regular Member Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Daventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default ECU replacement following remap

    My car had a remap six months ago, recent problems occured requiring a new ECU to be fitted. The remap is off now and car back to standard, should I risk having the map put back on?
    Is there anyway the remap could be respnsible for breaking the ECU?

    Thanks for any advice

    http://forum.vectra-c.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Which remap? What exactly was the problem? A remap can goose an ECU but you'd usually experience the problem there and then, not several months down the line.

    Some more info may help to give a better answer.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've recently had a fault which said to replace or repogram my engine control module. £40 later with new software fixed the problem a treat.
    There was no reason or cause to why this happened.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Daventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi Duncan
    Thanks for the reply.
    It was a Superchips remap.

    M

  5. #5
    Regular Member Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Daventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben H View Post
    I've recently had a fault which said to replace or repogram my engine control module. £40 later with new software fixed the problem a treat.
    There was no reason or cause to why this happened.
    Hi Ben H

    Is your car standard or remapped?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    morton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i've had lots of my previous cars chipped and never had a problem ! it would surprise me if that is whats caused your issues?!

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    Hi Ben H

    Is your car standard or remapped?
    Sorry, my car was standard but was just saying how for no reason one day the software of my ECM decided to be corrupt and strangely the fault/performance deteriated over a couple of weeks then one day it had updated software loaded back on and it was fixed.
    What I was getting at was the possibility yours was either knackered or just needing a reprogram.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Daventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi veccy22

    Thanks for your input - but do you think a remap could be the cause of the ECU faults over time. Can increased power cause stress on the components or programme.

    M

  9. #9
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    A remap won't gradually cause ECU faults over time - all a remap is is a bunch of different settings/variables. Increased power may cause more wear on mechanical components, but not an ECU - it's all electronic.

    If a remap is going to cause a problem with an ECU it will more than likely be as it's being flashed, not some months down the line.

    HTH

    D

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 27th September 2013, 00:22
  2. MAS cant remap car :(
    By mtqn in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12th August 2012, 12:49
  3. 2.0t remap from remap science bradford
    By stefan7153 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th May 2011, 22:03
  4. Remap replacement
    By spooney in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 9th March 2010, 23:49
  5. Remap SRi 150?
    By antowns in forum North East RO Vacant - ARO - Vacant
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd December 2009, 23:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •