User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Virgin Broadband and routers (Computer Pro Question?)

  1. #1
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Post Virgin Broadband and routers (Computer Pro Question?)

    for the people that have cabled Boradband I have a question, I want to get a router so I can download games onto my Wii, But I am not sure which one to go for, I am not fussed about wireless. I just want the easiest,realiable and decent priced one.

    If anyone can help it would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Unless you have the USB to Ethernet dongle for the Wii you'll need a wireless router.

    Virtually any of the big makes will do it (Belkin, D-Link, Netgear etc).

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gazza90000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle upon Toon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Lightbulb

    I'm using netgear. No problems.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    doesnt a wireless router give out quite alot of radiation though? thats y i havent opted for one. I was looking at a netgear one.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-WGR6...2253295&sr=8-1

  5. #5
    Regular Member yorkshireborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rotherham SouthYorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : saab 95


    Engine : 2.3t

    Year : 2006

    Default

    netgear here too DG834GT

  6. #6
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    whats netgear like? i am reading reviews and ses that some crash or overheat. I just want an easy installation and dont wanna spend more than £80.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Lightboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Dude, I work in IT & I'd go for Belkin every time, they are excellent products, well priced and last forever. Linksys (rebranded Cisco) are also good.

    Alternatively (for something that might save you a few quid to spend on your car) look at the BT Home Hub / Orange Livebox - you still pay BT line rental but if you pick the right package ALL numbers you call starting 01 and 02 are over the internet and FREE!

    I'm an ex-virgin/nthell customer and their offering is expensive, carphone warehouse is unreliable (and unregulated), there may be others.

    Saves me and Mrs. at least a tenner a month, you can plug your existing handsets into the box and both come with wireless.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    I'd steer clear of Netgear Too many issues with signal losses etc. Stick with Belkin, Linksys or D Link

    Quote Originally Posted by VeccyC_GSI View Post

    Alternatively (for something that might save you a few quid to spend on your car) look at the BT Home Hub / Orange Livebox - you still pay BT line rental but if you pick the right package ALL numbers you call starting 01 and 02 are over the internet and FREE!

    Saves me and Mrs. at least a tenner a month, you can plug your existing handsets into the box and both come with wireless.
    I've gone down the Livebox route. Free calls to Orange mobiles, all landlines (01 & 02) 8Mb Broadband, 500 mins x network mobile calls and texts included and free D900 handset £30/mth
    Last edited by Caterman; 19th June 2007 at 13:08.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Silver V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    mmmmmmmmmmmm
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thats Netgear outta the way then.. cheers guys.

  10. #10
    Regular Member greeningr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When I was in a Virgin Media cabled area I used a D-link DI-524/RE and had no problems what so ever.

    I got it from Ebay from http://stores.ebay.co.uk/DIGIDAVE-BROADBAND-STORE highly recommend them I had a problem with another router I bought from them recently and they refunded the money without any quibble.

    he's got some NTL/Telewest routers (Now Virgin Media) here http://search.stores.ebay.co.uk/DIGI...844810QQsofpZ0

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin Media Broadband.. Your thoughts??
    By john506 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th February 2012, 21:15
  2. Telephone & BroadBand (BT v Virgin Media)
    By Vaux-Man-G in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st May 2011, 22:04
  3. Virgin Broadband Router Help
    By spennny in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd June 2009, 08:17
  4. My Virgin Broadband install
    By Leviathan in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12th July 2008, 19:02
  5. Sky Broadband v Virgin Media
    By Telboy in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th March 2007, 01:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •