User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Plea for help for those who understand Computer networks.

  1. #1
    Regular Member greeningr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Plea for help for those who understand Computer networks.

    I know that they are a few network guru's on this forum. so this is a plea for help.

    I'm trying to get a linksys wireless access point (WAP11) to connect wirelessly to my BT Home Hub and I'm failing miserably.

    I've set the AP as a Access Point Client. Given it a static ip address in the BT Home Hub lan range. Assigned the same subnet mask and put the gateway as the IP of the BT Home Hub.

    Yet I still cannot ping the Access point.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Yours Frustratingly

  2. #2
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What OS are you using? XP?
    May be I´m not the best qualified to help in the matter but have you tried to use XP connection wizards? I installed a network on my appartment a month or so ago, I hooked up to my neigbour´s wireless modem and was pretty strigt foward. Instaled the drivers of the network divice an ran the connections wizard...done.
    I may suggest that you leave the IP adress, masks, etc. on Auto. Oh an make shure if you have a WEP or WAP code to type it correctly otherwise won´t work.
    Hope this give´s you a clue.....

  3. #3
    Regular Member um20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Doncaster
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Got a firewall installed? Zonealarm/McAfee etc? They'll try and stop you from connecting to other IPs. ZA is a ****** sometimes for that.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by um20 View Post
    Got a firewall installed? Zonealarm/McAfee etc? They'll try and stop you from connecting to other IPs. ZA is a ****** sometimes for that.
    I would agree with that. My Mcafee was preventing me connecting my laptop to the desktop wirelessly.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  5. #5
    Regular Member lee_eardley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Back to waddington,Lincoln)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just found this on the web may be worth a read ...

    To make changes to the BT Home Hub setup, you need to 'log on' to the Home Hub from a connected desktop machine. You do this using a web browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, etc). From the web browser address bar, enter the address: http://bthomehub.home and press Enter. If for any reason this doesn't work, you can also enter the IP address for the Home Hub (sometimes known as the gateway IP address). The default IP address for the BT Home Hub is http://192.168.1.254 .

    Once connected, you will be prompted for a username and password (Defaults - Username: admin, Password: admin), and then you'll see the main configuration screen.

    If you can't connect or the browser can't find your Home Hub - make sure that there's a connection to the Hub, and that there's no firewall issue preventing you from connecting. You can try a direct connection from PC to Hub using an Ethernet lead (which removes any wireless connectivity issues. Try Ping the Home Hub to verify connectivity (Start > Run > enter CMD and press Enter, then enter PING xxxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (the Home Hub IP address) and press Enter. If you get a timeout, you don't have a direct connection to the Hub.
    If you can connect from your browser, but can't log on as Admin, see the separate FAQ on Admin Access.

  6. #6
    Regular Member lee_eardley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Back to waddington,Lincoln)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    connecting via wireless....
    We've had a couple of questions asking about how to connect a device to the Internet, wirelessly. Here are some basic instructions.

    Setting up the Home Hub to allow for wireless access:

    Log on to the Home Hub as the Admin user (help)
    Go into the Advanced menu, and under 'Configuration', select 'Wireless'
    The next screen should show the 'Wireless Access Point' settings - select 'Configure' to edit these settings, and go through the following:
    Interface Enabled: Ticked
    Network name (SSID): A short name for your wireless network (so you can recognise it)
    Interface type: If in doubt, go for 802.11b/g
    Channel Selection: Automatic
    Allow multicast from Broadband Network: Ticked
    Press 'Apply'
    Next, from the Configuration > Wireless menu, select 'Configure security', and enter the following:
    Broadcast Network name: Ticked (for ease of setup - untick for greater security if you want to hide your network)
    Allow New Devices: Make sure this is set to "New stations are allowed"
    Encryption: Pick a type of encryption for security. WEP is common, WPA is more secure. If you're having problems, try disabling encryption (to eliminate this as a possible problem) - note that disabling security leaves you open to attack, so enable encryption at the earliest opportunity
    Encryption key: This is a unique key that other devices will need to be allowed to connect to your Home Hub
    Apply these changes. Wi-fi should be enabled.
    Next, you need to make sure that your Home Hub is able to assign IP addresses to devices that connect. Go to 'Configuration' > 'IP addresses'
    Make sure "Use DHCP Server:" is ticked, then look at the information under DHCP pool. Make a note of the following: start address, end address, subnet mask and server address, as you may need these when setting up a wireless device
    That should be enough to get the Wireless enabled. Next, go to the device you want to connect wirelessly, and go to the network setup screen. Obviously, this differs depending on what you're trying to connect with (PC, laptop, PDA, games console, etc), but below are some common things that you'll need to do:

    Turn on Wireless, and browse for all available access points. Assuming you're in range, you should see the SSID of the hub. Select this access point
    Assuming you turned Encryption on, you may next be prompted to enter the Encryption key for your Home Hub
    That should be enough to get you going. If not, see our Can't connect via hub FAQ, to make sure you're trying to get in with the right IP address, subnet mask and Gateway details. If you need more help, best to ask in our Home Hub forum.

  7. #7
    Regular Member lee_eardley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Back to waddington,Lincoln)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    http://www.frequencycast.co.uk/homehub.html

    web site for the above info

  8. #8
    Regular Member greeningr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers for the info guys.

    However, I've no problem with connecting PC's to the BT Home Hub wirelessly. They all work fine.

    The problem is when I try and connect the Linksys Access point wirelessly. It just will not connect to the existing wireless network.

  9. #9
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm a bit confused here. I'd normally use a wireless access point to allow wireless access to a wired network. Given that a BT Home Hub is a wireless network, what are you trying to achieve with the access point?

    Phil

  10. #10
    Regular Member greeningr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi Phil,

    I'm trying to connect my network printer which is situated in a different room from the BT Home hub. (running cat 5 isn't an option) I was informed that an Access point would be able to do this. Have i been miss informed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. A quick plea for help on the Wirral
    By cont1204 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 21:47
  2. now I understand
    By petel in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th November 2008, 16:07
  3. Wireless networks
    By Angel Boy in forum General Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 31st August 2007, 22:04
  4. Mobile Networks
    By greeningr in forum General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th June 2006, 07:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •