User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: V6 CDTI-faulty turbo diagnosed

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default V6 CDTI-faulty turbo diagnosed

    Recently started getting limp mode when accellerating uphill from a bout 40 to 70 in fourth gear.Originally diagnosed as Turbo boost pressure sensor fault.Sensor was replaced but problem persisted.Today it was diagnosed as "Faulty Turbo".Is this a common problem? (30k mileage,tuning box removed when symptoms started)

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    not to my knowledge it's not...the V6 CDti seems to be the more 'rock soild' diesel of Vx's current lineup..infact, this is the 1st turbo i've heard of going on one of them..1.9's have more of a reputation for them..

    prob just bad luck with the unit..

  3. #3
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What modifications have you made, as clearly the turbo has gone?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as he said, it is a tuning boxed car.....

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m8internet View Post
    What modifications have you made, as clearly the turbo has gone?

    I doubt that the tuning box is the cause of the problem.The box doesn't alter any of the turbo's parameters,it doesn't do anything different with the box on than it did without it.Anyway,it's only been "diagnosed" as having the problem,I could end up getting a new turbo (warranty runs out in September) and a car that still doesn't run.

    Perry's of Barnsley have been very good about this.They didn't have any of their courtesy cars available,so they sorted me out with a nice Astra SRI 1.8 from 'Enterprise'.Bit slow,but better than a 1.0 Corsa.
    Last edited by diesel dog; 31st May 2007 at 10:47.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Five days and one shiny new turbo later............yes you've guessed it!

    So it's back to the dealer once more to see what shiny new parts we can have fitted this time.
    Last edited by diesel dog; 5th June 2007 at 23:09.

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It seems that fitting a new sensor to the old faulty turbo didn't work,and also ruined the sensor.And fitting that sensor to the new turbo obviously didn't work either.So now we have a new turbo and another new sensor....and it works!

    Please someone tell me that it wasn't "the box" that caused all this.

  8. #8
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ....what air filter you running mate ... ? ......the v6's in the earlier cars had a woolen lower part stuck to the filter (new filters have a plastic or steel mesh to stop the filter beeing sucked in) ......this used to allow for a slight vac in the induction system and the engine ecu upped the boost to silly figures ..the engine can take the boost but the turbo bearings and sensors cant i had one fail on me and when i rang them they said change the air filter when you do the job ...( for the boys that may have tis there is a tsb on there about it)...but i will say i have noticed a slight whine from my turbo and i have too removed my tuning box ......i dont think the box is to blame ....tho !!!! ........

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin / Founder Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benny View Post
    ( for the boys that may have tis there is a tsb on there about it)...
    Attached

  10. #10
    Regular Member Hideous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    GB
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRi Nav

    Engine : CDTI158

    Year : 2012

    Default

    I picked up something from the Tunit website the other day: - although regular tuning boxes don't instruct an increase in turbo boost, the boost pressure is increased as a by-product of the extra exhaust gases generated. Makes sense to me.
    Whether or not that is contributory to the failure of your turbo is anybody's guess though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Faulty MAF or turbo?
    By krazylegz in forum Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th March 2012, 17:22
  2. suspect faulty injector 1.9 cdti 150
    By blakester9 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 18th March 2011, 22:17
  3. CDTi 150 Alternator - Faulty
    By RobW in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd January 2011, 18:36
  4. 04 vectra v6 cdti Faulty turbo
    By Ziggy in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th November 2008, 16:43

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •