User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: 06' vectra-c 1.9 ctdi smoking blackish white, mostly on start up and accelleration.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Vectra C 1.9 CDTI

Trim : Dunno

Engine : Diesel 1.9

Year : 2006

Default 06' vectra-c 1.9 ctdi smoking blackish white, mostly on start up and accelleration.

I'll just start by saying this isn't actually my vectra but a friends who otherwise has no idea how cars work and relies on garages (and me) to get things fixed. However I'm no mechanic, plus I only work on petrols mostly. I could do with some pointers to look for because this car smokes and my friend is worried it'll fail the mot (again) because of it.

It's a 1.9 ctdi, reg. in 2006. Automatic. Couldn't tell you much beyond that.

It failed the mot last year because it was blowing proper big clouds of black smoke out. The garage advised he put some tec 2000 fuel cleaner in it, so we did. I also gave the boost sensor and egr valve a clean as best I could but they were both really (REALLY) sooted up. I later noticed EML was on and checked dtc codes and though I can't remember the actual code, it was something like egr flow malfunction. I figured the valve was dead, probably due to all the soot (and cleaning it hadn't fix it). Anyway it got through the mot by the skin of it's teeth the second time which I attribute to the tec 2000, but it was still smoking quite badly.